softball-d2 flag

Tampa Athletics | May 9, 2014

No. 5 Tampa has walk-off victory versus Delta St.

  Kayleen Boatwright scored the game-winning run in the Spartans walk-off win.

TAMPA, Fla. -- No. 5 Tampa (32-6) opened NCAA Division II South Region play with a 3-2 walk-off victory versus Delta State on (30-30) Friday evening at Naimoli Family Field.

Tampa, the No. 2 seed and host of the four-team regional, won the second contest of the day as the No. 3 seed Valdosta State defeated No. 6 Palm Beach Atlantic in the first game of the day 7-2.

Senior Kayla Cox started for the Spartans and earned her 17th victory of the season. She tossed a complete game with nine strikeouts while allowing two runs on two hits.

The Tampa offense began the game with three straight hits as Kayleen Boatwright delivered a lead-off double followed by a Kandi Kuder bunt single. Meagan Burke followed with an RBI infield single to give the Spartans an early 1-0 lead.

UT added another run in the bottom of the third off a Delta State throwing error.  Kuder singled to begin the inning and advanced to third after two wild pitches. Burke followed with a walk and stole second to draw a throw which went into center field allowing Kuder to give the Spartans a 2-0 advantage.

Delta State answered with a rally in the top of the fourth on a clutch two out RBI single by Mariah Alvarez to even the score at 2-2.

The game remained scoreless heading into the bottom of the seventh to set the stage for the Tampa offense. Boatwright delivered a lead-off triple to deep center field and came around to score the winning run off a Delta State throwing error giving the Spartans a 3-2 win.

Jenna Halper also contributed for the Spartans with a base hit to total seven in the game.

Tampa will now meet Valdosta State at 1 p.m. on Saturday with the winner advancing to Sunday’s regional semifinal. Palm Beach Atlantic and Delta State will face off at 3:30 in an elimination game.

DII women's volleyball rankings: There's a new No. 1 after a wild weekend at the Colorado Premier Challenge

After Tampa lost all four matches at the Colorado Premier Challenge, Cal State San Bernardino is the new No. 1 in DII women's volleyball. Let's take a look at the new top 25 after Week 2.

DII women's volleyball rankings: No. 1 Tampa makes strong statement on opening weekend

No. 1 Tampa went 4-0 on opening weekend, taking down two top 20 teams along the way. Let's take a look at the first AVCA poll of the DII women's volleyball regular season.

The DII women's volleyball preseason poll will be released Tuesday. Here's what you need to know.

The 2019 DII women's volleyball season is set to begin. The AVCA will announce its preseason poll on Tuesday, August 20. Here's a recap of the 2018 top 25 and a history of the AVCA DII women's volleyball poll.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners