softball-d3 flag | May 10, 2016

Division III Softball Championship Field Announced

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Softball Committee has announced the 62 teams that will compete in the Division III Softball Championship.

The regional round will be held May 13-15. Four teams will compete at 14 regional sites and three teams will compete at two regional sites. The team advancing from each regional will compete in the super regional round May 20 and 21. The finals, hosted by the Old Dominion Athletic Conference and the City of Salem, will be held May 26-31 at Moyer Sports Complex in Salem, Virginia. All rounds will use a double-elimination format.

Forty-three conferences received automatic qualification (Pool A). One institution was selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The 18 remaining teams were selected on an at-large basis from automatic qualifying conferences and the remaining institutions in Pool B.

The conferences and teams that received automatic qualification were:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference East Texas Baptist
Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury
Centennial Conference Haverford
City University of New York Athletic Conference Staten Island
Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Wheaton (Illinois)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Neumann
Commonwealth Coast Conference Salve Regina
Empire 8 Ithaca
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Great South Athletic Conference Agnes Scott
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther
Landmark Conference Moravian
Liberty League Rochester
Little East Conference Western Connecticut State
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Alma
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Manhattanville
Midwest Conference Lake Forest
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Collegiate Conference Becker
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference WPI
New Jersey Athletic Conference Rowan
North Atlantic Conference Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Keuka
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Benedictine (Illinois)
Northwest Conference Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference Heidelberg
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Virginia Wesleyan
Presidents' Athletic Conference St. Vincent
Skyline Conference Mount Saint Mary (New York)
Southern Athletic Association Berry
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Greenville
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Superior
USA South Athletic Conference Ferrum
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater

The institution selected from Pool B was: Emory

The 18 institutions selected from Pool C were:

Christopher Newport
George Fox
Illinois Wesleyan
St. Catherine
St. John Fisher
The College of New Jersey
Washington U. in St. Louis


Alma, Michigan - Alma
*Angola, Indiana - Trine
Bloomington, Illinois - Illinois Wesleyan
Cortland, New York - SUNY Cortland
Decorah, Iowa - Luther
Ewing, New Jersey - The College of New Jersey
Ithaca, New York - Ithaca
Lake Forest, Illinois - Lake Forest
Medford, Massachusetts - Tufts
Mount Berry, Georgia - Berry
Newport News, Virginia - Christopher Newport
Norfolk, Virginia - Virginia Wesleyan
Rochester, New York - St. John Fisher
Spokane, Washington - Whitworth
Tyler, Texas - Texas-Tyler
Williamstown, Massachusetts - Williams

* The regional site at Angola, Indiana, will be conducted Thursday-Saturday, May 12-14.

In 2015, Tufts defeated Texas-Tyler twice in the championship series to win its third consecutive NCAA softball championship. Tufts finished the season with a 51-0 record.

East Texas Baptist University named host for the 2024 DIII softball championship

East Texas Baptist University was named the host of the NCAA 2024 Division III Softball Championship in Marshall, Texas, which will take place from May 30 to June 5.

Softball pitchers can disengage from the playing surface while delivering a pitch next season

A rule change ahead of the 2023-24 college softball season allows pitchers to disengage from the playing surface and become entirely airborne while delivering their pitch

D1Softball's top 100 college softball players from 2023

Who were the best players of the 2023 college softball season? Based on offensive stats, defensive impact, value to their team, advanced metrics and a splash of postseason success, D1Softball compiled the best 100 players of this past season.