softball-d1 flag | May 19, 2016

NCAA Division I Softball Committee announces 2016 Championship Field

  Florida is the No. 1 overall seed in the 2016 NCAA tournament.

INDIANAPOLIS—The University of Florida, the two-time defending national champion, was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Gators will host Alabama State University, an automatic qualifier from the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

MORE: Full Bracket

Team pairings were determined by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

The Southeastern Conference  led all leagues for the second straight year with 11 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Pac-12 Conference placed eight teams in the championship tournament, respectively. Five teams are making their first appearance in the tournament: Alabama State , Butler University, California State University, Bakersfield, University of Mississippi and Samford University.

Only 12 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and all 12 will compete in this year’s bracket.


*Indicates Host Institution

Gainesville Regional – May 20-22 at Gainesville, Florida

No. 1 seed Florida* (53-5) vs. Alabama St. (28-25)

Florida Atlantic (50-7) vs. UCF (36-20)


Athens Regional – May 20-22 at Athens, Georgia

Oklahoma St. (29-24) vs. Northwestern (26-26)

Maine (28-19) vs. No. 16 seed Georgia* (40-17)


Lexington Regional – May 20-22 at Lexington, Kentucky

No. 9 seed Kentucky* (43-12) vs. Butler (28-22)

Illinois (35-21) vs. Utah (32-19)


Tallahassee Regional – May 20-22 at Tallahassee, Florida

South Fla. (44-14) vs. South Carolina (36-21)

Florida A&M (27-28) vs. No. 8 seed Florida St.* (48-8)


Eugene Regional – May 20-22 at Eugene, Oregon

No. 5 seed Oregon* (44-8) vs. Fordham (39-19)

Long Beach St. (32-20) vs. Baylor (43-12)


Los Angeles Regional – May 20-22 at Los Angeles, California

Fresno St. (41-10-1) vs. Cal St. Fullerton (43-14)

Cal St. Bakersfield (16-32) vs. No. 12 seed UCLA* (35-13-1)


Knoxville Regional – May 20-22 at Knoxville, Tennessee

No. 13 seed Tennessee* (41-14) vs. Marist (45-11)

Ohio St. (33-18-1) vs. Arizona (36-19)


Auburn Regional – May 20-22 at Auburn, Alabama

Oregon St. (30-18-1) vs. USC Upstate (43-12)

Jacksonville St. (41-15) vs. No. 4 seed Auburn* (49-9)

Norman Regional – May 20-22 at Norman, Oklahoma

No. 3 seed Oklahoma * (47-7) vs. Wichita St. (35-19)

Tulsa (35-19) vs. Ole Miss (39-20)


Lafayette Regional – May 20-22 at Lafayette, Louisiana

Texas A&M (37-18) vs. Texas (37-14)

Boston U. (28-22) vs. No. 14 seed La.-Lafayette* (43-7)


Seattle Regional – May 20-22 at Seattle, Washington

No. 11 seed Washington* (36-13) vs. Weber St. (37-17)

North Dakota St. (38-13) vs. Minnesota (41-12)


Tuscaloosa Regional – May 20-22 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama  

California (31-22-1) vs. Texas St. (39-20)

Samford (40-18) vs. No. 6 seed Alabama* (46-12)


Harrisonburg Regional – May 20-22 at Harrisonburg, Virginia

No. 7 seed James Madison* (46-4) vs. Princeton (23-26)

Longwood (38-18) vs. North Carolina (31-23)


Baton Rouge Regional – May 20-22 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana

McNeese St. (42-12) vs. Arizona St. (30-25)

LIU Brooklyn (30-25) vs. No. 10 seed LSU* (45-15)


Columbia  Regional – May 19-21 at Columbia, Missouri

No. 15 seed Missouri* (39-14) vs. BYU (35-19)

Louisville (35-15) vs. Nebraska (33-19)


Ann Arbor Regional – May 20-22 at Ann Arbor, Michigan

Notre Dame (41-11) vs. Miami (OH) (34-21)

Valparaiso (18-32) vs. No. 2 seed Michigan* (46-5)


CHAMPIONSHIP STRUCTURE: The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 campus sites in a double-elimination tournament.

The committee held selections on  May 13-15. The 64-team field was selected from 295 NCAA Division I institutions sponsoring softball. Of the 64 teams, 32 teams received an automatic qualification with the remaining best 32 teams were selected on an at-large basis.

Regionals will be held May 20-22 on 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals.

Super Regionals for the championship will be held May 26-29 on eight campus sites. At each site, two teams play in a best-of-three tournament format. The winners from each site advance to the NCAA® Women’s College World Series (WCWS).

SEEDING/SITES: Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams are paired by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams within the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

CHAMPIONSHIP NOTES: 2015 Highlights: Florida won its second straight national championship defeating the University of Michigan, 4-1.  

For complete championship details log on to

Florida rises, Auburn and Texas join the latest D1baseball rankings

SEC champion Florida sits second while three new teams enter the latest D1Baseball rankings.

The 2023 Bowerman watch list for men's and women's NCAA track and field

Here are the watch lists for the 2023 Bowerman, highlighting some of the best athletes in DI track and field.

The cases for Bowerman women's candidates entering NCAA track and field preliminaries

NCAA Digital's Stan Becton breaks down the top Bowerman women's candidates, analyzing which athletes have the best case for the award at this point of the season.
Division I
Softball Championship
June 1-9, 2023
USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium | Oklahoma City, OK

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners