softball-d3 flag | May 8, 2017

Division III Softball Championship selections

  The 62-team field vying for the DIII Softball Championship has been set. Regional Round play begins May 12.

INDIANAPOLIS —The NCAA Division III Softball Committee has announced the 62 teams that will compete in the Division III Softball Championship.

The regional round will be held May 12-14. Four teams will compete at 14 regional sites and three teams will compete at two regional sites. The team advancing from each regional will compete in the super regional round May 19 and 20. The finals, hosted by the University of Central Oklahoma and the Oklahoma City All-Sports Association, will be held May 25-30 at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. All rounds will use a doubleelimination format.

2017 NCAA Division III Softball Championship Bracket

Forty-two conferences received an automatic qualification (Pool A). One institution was selected from Pool B, which includes independent institutions and institutions from conferences that do not meet the automatic qualification criteria. The 19 remaining teams were selected on an at-large basis from automatic qualifying conferences and the remaining institutions in Pool B.

The conferences and teams that received automatic qualification were:

Conference Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Dallas
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall
City University of New York Athletic Conference Staten Island
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference Neumann
Commonwealth Coast Conference Salve Regina
Empire 8 St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther
Landmark Conference Susquehanna
Liberty League Rensselaer
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Framingham State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Alma
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Widener
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Manhattanville
Midwest Conference St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Catherine
New England Collegiate Conference Lesley
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Babson
New Jersey Athletic Conference Kean
North Atlantic Conference Thomas
North Coast Athletic Conference DePauw
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State-Berks
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Benedictine (Illinois)
Northwest Conference Whitworth
Ohio Athletic Conference Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Virginia Wesleyan
Presidents' Athletic Conference Thomas More
Skyline Conference Mount Saint Mary (New York)
Southern Athletic Association Berry
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference La Verne
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Greenville
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference Averett
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater

The institution selected from Pool B was:

The 19 institutions selected from Pool C were:
Central (Iowa)
East Texas Baptist
Emory & Henry
St. Thomas (Minnesota)
Washington U. in St. Louis
William Paterson
Wisconsin-La Crosse


Location School
Alma, Michigan Alma
Ashland, Virginia Randolph-Macon
Babson Park, Massachusetts Babson
Cortland, New York SUNY Cortland
Decorah, Iowa Luther
Ithaca, New York Ithaca
La Crosse, Wisconsin Wisconsin-La Crosse
Marshall, Texas East Texas Baptist
Mount Berry, Georgia Berry
Pella, Iowa Central (Iowa)
Rochester, New York St. John Fisher
Springfield, Massachusetts Springfield
Tyler, Texas Texas-Tyler
Union, New Jersey Kean
*Whitewater, Wisconsin Wisconsin-Whitewater
Williamstown, Massachusetts Williams

* The regional site at Whitewater, Wisconsin will be conducted Thursday-Saturday, May 11-13. 

In 2016, Texas-Tyler defeated Messiah in the championship series to win its first NCAA softball championship. For more information about the Division III Softball Championship, log on to

East Texas Baptist University named host for the 2024 DIII softball championship

East Texas Baptist University was named the host of the NCAA 2024 Division III Softball Championship in Marshall, Texas, which will take place from May 30 to June 5.

Softball pitchers can disengage from the playing surface while delivering a pitch next season

A rule change ahead of the 2023-24 college softball season allows pitchers to disengage from the playing surface and become entirely airborne while delivering their pitch

D1Softball's top 100 college softball players from 2023

Who were the best players of the 2023 college softball season? Based on offensive stats, defensive impact, value to their team, advanced metrics and a splash of postseason success, D1Softball compiled the best 100 players of this past season.