softball-d1 flag | May 17, 2018

2018 Division I softball championship bracket unveiled

Top 10 Plays of the 2017 Women's College World Series

INDIANAPOLIS — The University of Oregon earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Ducks will host Albany (NY) an automatic qualifier from the America East Conference.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites beginning this Thursday.

BRACKETS: View the interactive bracket | Printable

Team pairings were determined by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

The Southeastern Conference led all leagues with 13 teams selected to the championship tournament. The Pac-12 Conference placed seven teams in the championship tournament. Four teams are making their first appearance in the tournament: Boise State University, Kennesaw State University, Monmouth University, and Prairie View A&M University.

RELATED: Schedule, times, infomation to know about the 2018 softball championship

Only 12 schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, 11 of the 12 will compete in this year’s bracket.

Automatic Qualifiers

Conference School
American Athletic Tulsa
America East Albany (N.Y.)
ACC Florida State
Atlantic Sun Kennesaw State
Atlantic 10 Fordham
Big East DePaul
Big 12 Oklahoma
Big Sky Sacramento State
Big South Liberty
Big Ten Minnesota
Big West Cal State Fullerton
Colonial Hofstra
Conference USA Middle Tennessee
Horizon Illinois Chicago
Ivy Harvard
Metro Atlantic Monmouth
Mid-American Ohio
MEAC Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley Drake
Mountain West Boise State
Northeast Saint Francis (PA)
Ohio Valley Jacksonville State
Patriot Boston University
Pac-12 Oregon
SEC Florida
Southern UNC-Greensboro
Southland McNeese
Sun Belt Texas State
Summit North Dakota State
SWAC Prairie View
West Coast BYU
Western Athletic New Mexico State

At-Large Qualifiers

School Conference
Alabama SEC
Arizona Pac-12
Arizona State Pac-12
Arkansas SEC
Auburn SEC
Baylor Big 12
California Pac-12
Georgia SEC
Houston American Athletic
James Madison Colonial
Kentucky SEC
Louisiana Sun Belt
Long Beach State Big West
Michigan Big Ten
Mississippi State SEC
Missouri SEC
Northwestern Big Ten
Notre Dame ACC
Ohio State Big Ten
Oklahoma State Big 12
Ole Miss SEC
Oregon State Pac-12
South Carolina SEC
South Florida American Athletic
Tennessee SEC
Texas Big 12
Texas A&M SEC
UCLA Pac-12
Washington Pac-12
Wichita State American Athletic
Wisconsin Big Ten


*Indicates Host Institution

Eugene Regional – May 17-19 at Eugene, Oregon

No. 1 seed Oregon* (47-7) vs. Albany (NY) (32-14)

BYU (35-20) vs. Drake (43-10)

Lexington Regional – May 18-20 at Lexington, Kentucky

Michigan (43-11) vs. Notre Dame (32-21)

Ill.-Chicago (33-19) vs. No. 16 seed Kentucky* (31-19)

Columbia Regional – May 18-20 at Columbia, South Carolina

No. 9 seed South Carolina* (45-14) vs. UNCG (46-11)

Liberty (47-12) vs. Hofstra (40-12)

Tempe Regional – May 18-20 at Tempe, Arizona

Long Beach St. (42-12) vs. Ole Miss (30-23)

New Mexico St. (29-22) vs. No. 8 seed Arizona St.* (43-11)

Seattle Regional – May 18-20 at Seattle, Washington

No. 5 seed Washington* (44-8) vs. Boise St. (40-14)

Texas (32-24) vs. Minnesota (39-15)

Tuscaloosa Regional – May 18-20 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Oregon St. (28-26) vs. Wisconsin (28-21)

Middle Tenn. (39-20) vs. No. 12 seed Alabama* (33-18)

Fayetteville Regional – May 18-20 at Fayetteville, Arkansas

No. 13 seed Arkansas* (39-15) vs. DePaul (35-15)

Wichita St. (30-21) vs. Oklahoma St. (38-20)

Norman Regional – May 18-20 at Norman, Oklahoma

Missouri (28-27) vs. Tulsa (33-23)

Boston U. (39-18) vs. No. 4 seed Oklahoma* (50-3)

Los Angeles Regional – May 18-20 at Los Angeles, California

No. 3 seed UCLA* (50-4) vs. Sacramento St. (31-18)

Cal St. Fullerton (33-23) vs. Texas St. (42-14)

Tucson Regional – May 18-20 at Tucson, Arizona

Mississippi St. (36-21) vs. North Dakota St. (33-17)

St. Francis (PA) (39-17) vs. No. 14 seed Arizona* (40-14)

Baton Rouge Regional – May 18-20 at Baton Rouge, Louisiana

No. 11 seed LSU* (41-14) vs. Fordham (33-21)

Houston (36-20) vs. Louisiana (38-14)

Tallahassee Regional – May 18-20 at Tallahassee, Florida

Auburn (40-15) vs. Kennesaw St. (39-15)

Jacksonville St. (33-23) vs. No. 6 seed Florida St.* (47-10)

Athens Regional – May 18-20 at Athens, Georgia

No. 7 seed Georgia* (43-11) vs. Harvard (23-16)

Northwestern (36-17) vs. California (34-19)

Knoxville Regional – May 18-20 at Knoxville, Tennessee

James Madison (42-12) vs. Ohio (38-15)

Monmouth (32-14) vs. No. 10 seed Tennessee* (45-12)

College Station Regional – May 18-20 at College Station, Texas

No. 15 seed Texas A&M* (40-16) vs. Prairie View (20-21)

McNeese (40-19) vs. Baylor (36-16)

Gainesville Regional – May 18-20 at Gainesville, Florida

Ohio St. (34-14) vs. South Fla. (38-21)

Bethune-Cookman (31-24) vs. No. 2 seed Florida* (50-8)                

Championship structure: The committee held selections on May 11-13. The 64-team field was selected from 297 NCAA Division I institutions sponsoring softball. Of the 64 teams, 32 teams received an automatic qualification with the remaining best 32 teams selected on an at-large basis.

Regionals will be held May 17-20 on 16 campus sites. At each campus site, a four-team, double-elimination tournament will be conducted, and the 16 winning teams advance to the Super Regionals.

Super Regionals for the championship will be held May 24-27 on eight campus sites. At each site, two teams play in a best-of-three tournament format. The winners from each site advance to the NCAA® Women’s College World Series (WCWS).

Seeding/Sites: Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams are paired by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams within the same conference were not paired during regional competition.

Championship notes: 2017 Highlights: Oklahoma defeated Florida, 5-4, to win their fourth softball championship title.

For complete championship details log on to

East Texas Baptist University named host for the 2024 DIII softball championship

East Texas Baptist University was named the host of the NCAA 2024 Division III Softball Championship in Marshall, Texas, which will take place from May 30 to June 5.

Softball pitchers can disengage from the playing surface while delivering a pitch next season

A rule change ahead of the 2023-24 college softball season allows pitchers to disengage from the playing surface and become entirely airborne while delivering their pitch

D1Softball's top 100 college softball players from 2023

Who were the best players of the 2023 college softball season? Based on offensive stats, defensive impact, value to their team, advanced metrics and a splash of postseason success, D1Softball compiled the best 100 players of this past season.
Division I
Softball Championship
May 30 - June 6/7, 2024
USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium | Oklahoma City, OK

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners