softball-d3 flag | May 29, 2018

Virginia Wesleyan nabs second straight national title

Virginia Wesleyan wins the 2018 DIII Softball Championship

Virginia Wesleyan jumped out to a 2-1 lead in the first inning of Tuesday's decisive Game 3 and never relinquished the lead, riding that first inning to the 2018 NCAA DIII softball championship, its second straight national title. The Marlins topped Illinois Wesleyan after splitting Monday's games.

The Marlins won Game 1 6-1 on Monday, as Hanna Hull pitched seven strong innings, allowing one run on five hits with nine strikeouts. Illinois Wesleyan then forced a Game 3 with a 5-4 eight-inning victory behind Maggie Graham's game-winning RBI double.

MORE: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket  | Scoreboard | Stream every game

For the full final schedule, check below:

Tournament schedule from May 24-28/29:

1 (1) Virginia Wesleyan vs. (8) Ithaca Thursday, May 24 12 p.m. 6-0, Virginia Wesleyan
2 (4) MIT vs. (5) Luther Thursday, May 24 2:30 p.m. 6-3, Luther
3 (2) UT Tyler vs. (7) Case Western Reserve Thursday, May 24 5:15 p.m. 7-1, UT Tyler
4 (3) Rowan vs. (6) Illinois Wesleyan Thursday, May 24 7:30 p.m. 5-1, Ill. Wesleyan
5 (8) Ithaca vs. (4) MIT Friday, May 25 5:30 p.m. 3-2, Ithaca (8 innings)
6  (7) Case Western Reserve vs. (3) Rowan (Elimination Game) Friday, May 25 8 p.m. 2-1, CWRU (8 innings)
7 (2) UT Tyler vs. (6) Illinois Wesleyan Saturday, May 26 12 p.m. 3-2, Ill. Wesleyan (10 innings)
8 (1) Virginia Wesleyan vs. (5) Luther Saturday, May 26 2:30 p.m. 3-0, Virginia Wesleyan
9 Ithaca vs. UT Tyler Saturday, May 26 5 p.m. 5-2, Ithaca
10 Case Western Reserve vs. Luther Saturday, May 26 7:30 p.m. 7-6, Luther
11 Virginia Wesleyan vs. Ithaca Sunday, May 27 1 p.m. 1-0, Virginia Wesleyan
12 Illinois Wesleyan vs. Luther Sunday, May 27 3:30 p.m. 5-2, Luther
14 Illinois Wesleyan vs. Luther Sunday, May 27 6 p.m. 5-1, Illinois Wesleyan
15 Virginia Wesleyan vs. Illinois Wesleyan (National Championship Game 1) Monday, May 28 2 p.m. 6-1, Virginia Wesleyan
16 Virginia Wesleyan vs. Illinois Wesleyan (National Championship Game 2) Monday, May 28 4:30 p.m. 5-4, Illinois Wesletan (8 innings)
17 Virginia Wesleyan vs. Illinois Wesleyan (National Championship Game 3) *if necessary Tuesday, May 29 12 p.m. 3-1, Virginia Wesleyan

Virginia Wesleyan took home the 2017 national championship with a two-game sweep over St. John Fisher in the final series. Click here for the complete DIII softball championship history.

DII college basketball contenders and DII football season

Let's take a look around the world of DII sports with an early look at who could be atop the DII men's and women's basketball rankings as well as some big DII football showdowns as the RMAC season officially begins.

The 11 best NCAA softball pitchers of all-time

Here are the 11 best college softball pitchers of all time, including Cat Osterman, Jennie Finch and Lisa Fernandez.

The longest games in WCWS college softball history

Here are the longest games in NCAA Women's College World Series history, topped by a 25-inning affair in 1984.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners