softball-d2 flag | June 21, 2019

Augustana beats Texas A&M-Kingsville for 2019 DII softball national championship

Augustana (S.D.) wins the 2019 DII Softball National Championship

Augustana defeated Texas A&M-Kingsville to claim the 2019 DII softball national championship on Monday, May 27. The Vikings came back after losing Game 1 to win Games 2 and 3 for the series victory.

BRACKETS: Print yours | Interactive bracket

Augustana took a 6-4 lead in the top of the sixth inning on a 2-run single by Kendall Cornick. That score held until the end, as the Vikings were able to secure their second title in program history. The first came in 1991. Texas A&M-Kingsville and Augustana were both 3-0 in the tournament entering the final series, with Texas A&M-Kingsville looking to claim its first title in program history.

See the full schedule and list of results below.

2019 DII Softball Championship: Schedule and scores

The 2019 DII softball championship
Game Matchup Date/ Time (ET) Results
1 No. 1 LIU Post vs. No. 8 Young Harris May 23, 1 p.m. Young Harris, 9-4
2 No. 4 Texas A&M Kingsville vs. No. 5 Grand Valley State May 23, 4:15 p.m. TAMU-K, 2-1
3 No. 2 West Florida vs. No. 7 West Chester May 23, 6 p.m. West Florida, 5-1
4 No. 3 Augustana (SD) vs. No. 6 UC San Diego May 23, 8:30 p.m. Augustana, 8-0 (5)
5 Young Harris vs. Texas A&M-Kingsville May 24, 1 p.m. Texas A&M-Kingsville, 3-1
6 West Florida vs. Augustana May 24, 3:30 p.m. Augustana (SD), 4-2
7 LIU Post vs. Grand Valley State May 24, 6 p.m. Grand Valley State, 2-0
8 West Chester vs. UC San Diego May 24, 8:30 p.m. West Chester, 7-6
9 West Florida vs. Grand Valley State May 25, 1 p.m. Grand Valley State, 3-2
10 Young Harris vs. West Chester May 25, 3:30 p.m. Young Harris, 4-0 
11 Texas A&M-Kingsville vs. Grand Valley State May 25, 6 p.m. Texas A&M-Kingsville, 3-2
12 Augustana vs. Young Harris May 25, 8:30 p.m. Augustana, 6-0 
15 Texas A&M-Kingsville vs. Augustana May 26, 10:45 p.m. Texas A&M-Kingsville, 7-2
16 Texas A&M-Kingsville vs. Augustana May 27, 4 p.m. Augustana, 6-4
17 Texas A&M-Kingsville vs. Augustana May 27, 6:30 p.m. Augustana, 6-4

RESULTS: We tracked every regional and Super Regional game of the tournament

DII Softball Championship: History

Southern Indiana won the 2019 DII softball championship, which means we'll have a new champion in 2019. Last season was the ninth year in a row we had a first-time DII softball national champion. UC San Diego and Augustana hope to reverse that trend as the only two teams in the field with a previous national championship. 

HISTORY: Here are the programs with the most DII titles

A complete list of the DII softball championship game can be found below.

2018 *Southern Indiana (40-23) Sue Kunkle 8-3 Saint Anselm Salem, Va.
2017 *Minnesota State (64-7) Lori Meyer 5-1 Angelo State Salem, Va.
2016 North Alabama (60-7) Ashley Cozart 4-1 Humboldt State Denver
2015 North Georgia (54-8) Mike Davenport 5-0 Dixie State Oklahoma City
2014 *West Texas A&M (60-7) Kevin Blaskowski 3-2 Valdosta State Salem, Va.
2013 *Central Oklahoma (51-11) Genny Stidham 5-2 Kutztown Salem, Va.
2012 Valdosta State (58-5) Thomas Macera 4-1 UC San Diego Louisville, Ky.
2011 UC San Diego Patti Gerckens 10-3 Alabama-Huntsville Salem, Va.
2010 *Hawaii Pacific (50-8) Bryan Nakasone 4-3 Valdosta State Saint Joesph, Mo.
2009 Lock Haven (51-6) Kelly Green 8-0 Alabama-Huntsville Salem, Va.
2008 *Humboldt State (57-18) Frank Cheek 1-0 Emporia State Houston
2007 *SIU Edwardsville (49-8) Sandy Montgomery 3-2 Lock Haven Akron, Ohio
2006 *Lock Haven (56-4) Kelly Green 3-0 Emporia State Salem, Va.
2005 * **Lynn (54-7) Thomas Macera 5-3 Kennesaw State Salem, Va.
2004 Angelo State (47-11 Travis Scott 7-3 Florida Southern Altamonte Springs, Fla.
2003 *UC Davis (53-15) Kathy DeYoung 7-0 Georgia College Salem, Ore.
2002 St. Mary's (Texas) (58-11) Donna Fields 4-0 Grand Valley State Salem, Va.
2001 Nebraska-Omaha (54-6) Jeanne Tostenson 4-0 Lewis Salem, Va.
2000 North Dakota State (68-10) Mitch Hanson 3-1 Kennesaw State Columbus, Ga.
1999 Humboldt State (55-7-1) Frank Cheek 7-2 Nebraska-Kearney Salem, Va.
1998 California (Pa.) (49-7) Rick Bertagnolli 2-1 Barry Pensacola, Fla.
1997 *California (Pa.) (53-5) Rick Bertagnolli 2-1 Wisconsin-Parkside Salem, Va.
1996 Kennesaw State (49-8) Scott Whitlock 6-4 Nebraska-Omaha Emporia, Kan.
1995 Kennesaw State (53-5) Scott Whitlock 3-2 Bloomsburg Salem, Va.
1994 Merrimack (45-4) Michele Myslinski 6-2 Humboldt State Shawnee, Kan.
1993 Florida Southern (45-11) Chris Bellotto 11-5 Augustana (S.D.) Shawnee, Kan.
1992 Missouri Southern State (50-7) Pat Lipira 1-0 Cal State East Bay Shawnee, Kan.
1991 *Augustana (SD) (61-4-1) Sandy Jerstad 3-2 Bloomsburg Midland, Mich.
1990 Cal State Bakersfield (44-11) Kathy Welter 6-2 Cal State Northridge Midland, Mich.
1989 Cal State Bakersfield (38-23) Kathy Welter 8-5 Sacramento State Sacramento, Calif.
1988 Cal State Bakersfield (54-9-1) Kathy Welter 4-3 Lock Haven Sacramento, Calif.
1987 Cal State Northridge (58-7) Gary Torgeson 4-0 Florida Southern Quincy, Ill.
1986 *Stephen F. Austin (38-15-1) Dianne Baker 1-0 Cal State Northridge Akron, Ohio
1985 *Cal State Northridge (62-19) Gary Torgeson 2-1 Akron Northridge, Calif.
1984 *Cal State Northridge (51-12-2) Gary Torgeson 1-0 Akron Sioux Falls, S.D.
1983 *Cal State Northridge (35-20-2) Gary Torgeson 1-0 Sam Houston State Orange, Calif.
1982 Sam Houston State (40-6) Wayne Daigle 3-2 Cal State Northridge Stratford, Conn.

*Indicates undefeated teams in finals series

** Lynn’s participation in the 2005 tournament vacated by NCAA Committee on Infractions.

When does the 2020 college softball season start?

First pitch for the 2020 college softball season is scheduled for Feb. 6. Here's what you need to know.

Women's College World Series 2020 schedule

Here is the full schedule for the 2020 Women's College World Series. The WCWS runs May 28-June 2/3 at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Notable college baseball players who starred in the Little League World Series

Hundreds of schools across three divisions of NCAA baseball have fielded teams for numerous years, making it difficult to pinpoint every athlete that's participated on a college program and in the 73-tournament-old LLWS. But though this compilation isn't comprehensive, we've put together a list of some of the most notable players who stepped on the collegiate and LLWS baseball diamond at some point in their careers.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners