softball-d1 flag

Michella Chester | | May 15, 2021

2021 college softball: TV schedule, conference tournament brackets, auto bids

College softball predictions for the rest of the 2021 season

Sixty-four teams will play for the national title in the 2021 DI softball championship. Of those 64 teams, 31 qualify automatically.

Six AQs will be awarded to the regular-season champions of the Big Ten, Big West, Mid-American, Mountain West, Pac-12, West Coast. The rest will be tournament champions. In the table below, click on the conference to find more information on the conference tournament or the bracket for the conference championship. 

2021 NCAA Softball: Conference tournament brackets, automatic qualifiers

America East Location of highest seed May 13-15 UMBC
American Athletic Tulsa, Oklahoma May 13-15 Wichita State
ACC Louisville, KY May 12-15 Duke
Atlantic Sun Lynchburg, VA, Kennesaw GA May 7-8/May 13-15 Liberty
Atlantic 10 Location of highest seed May 13-15 George Washington
Big East Storrs, Conn. May 13-15 Villanova
Big Sky Ogden, Utah May 13-15 Portland State
Big South Boiling Springs, N.C. May 13-15 Campbell
Big Ten No tournament N/A Michigan
Big 12 Oklahoma City, Ok May 14-15  Oklahoma
Big West No tournament N/A Long Beach State
Colonial Harrisonburg, Va May 12-15 James Madison
Conference USA Bowling Green, KY  May 12-15 Western Kentucky
Horizon  Youngstown, Ohio May 13-15 UIC
Ivy No tournament N/A No champion
Metro Atlantic Location of highest seed May 7-9 /May 13-16 Manhattan
Mid-American  No tournament N/A Miami (OH)
Mid-Eastern Norfolk, Va. May 13-15 Morgan State
Missouri Valley Evansville, Ind. May 12-15 SIU
Mountain West No tournament  N/A Fresno State
Northeast Location of highest seed May 13-15 Saint Francis 
Ohio Valley Oxford, Alabama May 12-15 Eastern Kentucky
Pac-12 No Tournament N/A UCLA
Patriot Boston, Ma May 13-15 Boston University
SEC Tuscaloosa, Ala. May 11-15 Alabama
Southern  Location of highest seed May 13-15  UNCG
Southland Hammond, La. May 12-15 McNeese
SWAC Gulfport, Miss. May 12-14 or 15 Alabama State
Summit Fargo, N.D. May 12-15 South Dakota State
Sun Belt (Bracket) Troy, Al May 11-15 Louisiana
WAC (Bracket) Seattle, Wa May 13-15 Seattle
West Coast No Tournament N/A BYU


NCAA Softball Tournament: Schedule

Here's the current schedule for the 64-team NCAA softball tournament.

  • Selections: 9 p.m. ET on Sunday, May 16. Aired on ESPN2
  • Regionals: Friday, May 21 through Sunday, May 23. Regional competition will be Thursday, May 20 through Saturday, May 22 for regionals that have a team with a no-competition-on-Sunday policy
  • Super Regionals: Thursday, May 27 through Saturday, May 29 or Friday, May 28 through Sunday, May 30
  • Women's College World Series: Thursday, June 3 through Wednesday, June 9

NCAA Softball: Champions, Women's College World Series winners

2019 *UCLA (56-6) Kelly Inouye-Perez 5-4 Oklahoma Oklahoma City
2018 *Florida State (58-12) Lonni Alameda 8-3 Washington Oklahoma City
2017 *Oklahoma (61-9) Patty Gasso 5-4 Florida Oklahoma City
2016 Oklahoma (57-8) Patty Gasso 2-1 Auburn Oklahoma City
2015 Florida (60-7) Tim Walton 4-1 Michigan Oklahoma City
2014 *Florida (55-12) Tim Walton 6-3 Alabama Oklahoma City
2013 *Oklahoma (57-4) Patty Gasso 4-0 Tennessee Oklahoma City
2012 Alabama (60-8) Patrick Murphy 5-4 Oklahoma Oklahoma City
2011 *Arizona State (60-6) Clint Myers 7-2 Florida Oklahoma City
2010 *UCLA (50-11) Kelly Inouye-Perez 15-9 Arizona Oklahoma City
2009 Washington (51-12) Heather Tarr 3-2 Florida Oklahoma City
2008 *Arizona State (66-5) Clint Myers 11-0 Texas A&M Oklahoma City
2007 Arizona (50-14-1) Mike Candrea 5-0 Tennessee Oklahoma City
2006 Arizona (54-11) Mike Candrea 5-0 Northwestern Oklahoma City
2005 Michigan (65-7) Carol Hutchins 4-1 UCLA Oklahoma City
2004 UCLA (47-9) Sue Enquist 3-1 California Oklahoma City
2003 UCLA (54-7) Sue Enquist 1-0 California Oklahoma City
2002 California (56-19) Diane Ninemire 6-0 Arizona Oklahoma City
2001 *Arizona (65-4) Mike Candrea 1-0 UCLA Oklahoma City
2000 *Oklahoma (66-8) Patty Gasso 3-1 UCLA Oklahoma City
1999 *UCLA (63-6) Sue Enquist 3-2 Washington Oklahoma City
1998 Fresno State (52-11) Margie Wright 1-0 Arizona Oklahoma City
1997 Arizona (61-5) Mike Candrea 10-2 UCLA Oklahoma City
1996 *Arizona (58-9) Mike Candrea 6-4 Washington Columbus, Ga.
1995 *#UCLA (50-6) Sharron Backus 4-2 Arizona Oklahoma City
1994 *Arizona (64-3) Mike Candrea 2-0 Cal State Northridge Oklahoma City
1993 Arizona (44-8) Mike Candrea 1-0 UCLA Oklahoma City
1992 *UCLA (54-2) Sharron Backus 2-0 Arizona Oklahoma City
1991 Arizona (56-16) Mike Candrea 5-1 UCLA Oklahoma City
1990 UCLA (62-7) Sharron Backus 2-0 Fresno State Oklahoma City
1989 *UCLA (48-4) Sharron Backus 1-0 Fresno State Sunnyvale, Calif.
1988 UCLA (53-8) Sharron Backus 3-0 Fresno State Sunnyvale, Calif.
1987 Texas A&M (56-8) Bob Brock 4-1 UCLA Omaha, Neb.
1986 *Cal State Fullerton (57-9-1) Judi Garman 3-0 Texas A&M Omaha, Neb.
1985 UCLA (41-9) Sharron Backus 2-1 Nebraska Omaha, Neb.
1984 UCLA (45-6-1) Sharron Backus 1-0 Texas A&M Omaha, Neb.
1983 Texas A&M (41-11) Bob Brock 2-0 Cal State Fullerton Omaha, Neb.
1982 *UCLA (33-7-2) Sharron Backus 2-0 Fresno State Omaha, Neb.

*Indicates undefeated teams in final series. 

#-UCLA’s 1995 national championship was later vacated by the NCAA’s Committee on Infractions

East Texas Baptist University named host for the 2024 DIII softball championship

East Texas Baptist University was named the host of the NCAA 2024 Division III Softball Championship in Marshall, Texas, which will take place from May 30 to June 5.

Softball pitchers can disengage from the playing surface while delivering a pitch next season

A rule change ahead of the 2023-24 college softball season allows pitchers to disengage from the playing surface and become entirely airborne while delivering their pitch

D1Softball's top 100 college softball players from 2023

Who were the best players of the 2023 college softball season? Based on offensive stats, defensive impact, value to their team, advanced metrics and a splash of postseason success, D1Softball compiled the best 100 players of this past season.
Division I
Softball Championship
May 30 - June 6/7, 2024
USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium | Oklahoma City, OK

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners