softball-d1 flag | June 24, 2021

College softball: JMU's historic run captures 2021 NFCA DI national coaching staff of the year honors

James Madison upsets Oklahoma for first-ever Women's College World Series win

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Highlighted by a historic run to the national semifinals, James Madison University was named the 2021 NFCA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year, the Association announced Thursday afternoon. Voted by their peers, head coach Loren LaPorte and her staff take home their first national honor from the Association. LaPorte, along with associate head coach Jennifer Herzig and assistant coach Libby Morris, steered JMU to the program’s first Women’s College World Series appearance where it made history. With a pair of one-run wins over No. 1 overall seed Oklahoma and No. 5 seed Oklahoma State, the Dukes became the first unseeded program to capture their first two games at the WCWS as well being the first ever to reach the semifinals. Making its way to the WCWS, JMU opened postseason as the Knoxville Regional’s three seed and swept its way to Super Regionals, knocking off nationally-ranked Liberty twice and No. 9 national seed Tennessee. Continuing on the road, the Dukes defeated No. 8 national seed Missouri in three games at the Columbia Super Regional to advance to the WCWS.

BREAKOUT STARS: The key ingredients to JMU'S success in the WCWS

Earning honors as the NFCA’s Northeast Region Coaching Staff of the Year, LaPorte, Herzig and Morris guided JMU to Colonial Athletic Association regular season and tournament titles. The Dukes, who lost only one regular season game, finished 41-4 and 17-1 in the CAA. LaPorte, who just finished her fourth year at the helm, is 148-34 overall and has led the Dukes to back-to-back Super Regionals and three straight Regionals.

Regional (respective region only) and National Coaching Staffs of the Year are voted on by NFCA member head coaches. JMU, along with respective regional winners - University of Oklahoma (Central), University of Michigan (Great Lakes), Virginia Tech (Mid-Atlantic), Miami University (Mideast), South Dakota State University (Midwest), University of Washington (Pacific), University of Arkansas (South), Duke University (Southeast) and UCLA (West) – were eligible for the national honor.

2021 FCS championship: Everything you need to know about the 2021 FCS championship semifinals

The 2021 FCS championship semifinals are approaching and four teams remain in the fight to lift this year's trophy. From the 24-team FCS playoff field, South Dakota State, No. 8 Montana State, No. 3 James Madison and No. 2 North Dakota State still have a chance at the title.

2021 FCS playoffs: Here are the best potential 2021 FCS championship game matchups

With just two games left in the FCS playoffs before the national title game in Frisco, it's time to countdown the most enticing possibilities for a national championship matchup.

FCS playoffs: These are the top-5 QBs to watch entering the FCS playoffs

We're just days away from the start of the FCS football playoffs and there are plenty of exciting players ready to take center stage. That being said, here's a look at the top-five quarterbacks to watch entering the FCS playoffs.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners