softball-d3 flag

Spencer Parlier | | May 31, 2022

Christopher Newport wins the 2022 DIII softball national title

2022 DIII softball championship: day six recap

No. 1 Christopher Newport is the 2022 DIII softball national champion. After the Captains topped No. 6 Trine 6-3 in the first game of the championship series on Monday, CNU shut out the Thunder 3-0 in Game 2, clinching the title.

In Game 1, Kaitlyn Hasty came through for the Captains with a grand slam in the bottom of the fifth that broke a 2-2 tie.

In Game 2 of the series, the Captains kept pouring it on, scoring one run in the first inning and two more in the top of the fourth. Maddie Hool's two-RBI double in the fourth added comfortable cushion.

Here are the complete results from the championship series: 

Click or tap here to view the final interactive bracket. 

Oklahoma sweeps Texas to win the 2022 Women's College World Series

Oklahoma beat Texas in dominating fashion to sweep the Longhorns in the WCWS championship series.

Oklahoma sweeps Texas in dominant fashion to win back-to-back WCWS national titles

Oklahoma downed Texas 10-5 in Game 2 of the WCWS national championship series to clinch its second consecutive national title. Jocelyn Alo won the 2022 WCWS Most Outstanding Player award.

Oklahoma crushes Texas to start Women's College World Series finals, sets home run record

Oklahoma set a WCWS record with six home runs to rout rival Texas 16-1 and move one win away from their second consecutive title and sixth overall. Jocelyn Alo hit two homers in the blowout.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners