Feb. 8, 2009

Courtesy of Minnesota

The No. 9 University of Minnesota men’s swimming and diving team finished its domination at the Minnesota Challenge when the team won 12 events to conclude the Golden Gophers’ home season.


Minnesota started the second day of the Minnesota Challenge with a win in the 200 medley relay. Competing in the 200 medley relay was Nadav Kochavi, Colin Lee-To, Anthony Portela and Curt Carlson as the foursome put in a winning time of 1:28.14.


Minnesota held the top five spots in the 400 individual medley, including a win from Rob Schaefer in 3:56.96. Richard Hills touched the wall in 3:57.96 for second, followed by Josh Griffey in third (4:03.48), Nico Zebley in fourth (4:04.60) and Andrew Knaak in fifth (4:06.61).


Kochavi added an individual win when he chipped in a winning 100 fly time of 47.19, followed by Steve Miller with second-place time of 49.47. He recorded his second individual win of the night in the 200 fly (1:46.27) during the second session.


Minnesota showed its team depth in the 200 freestyle, taking the top 10 finishes. Jake Kittilstad won the 200 free with a winning time of 1:38.69, while Chris Peterson placed second in 1:39.29. Matt Papenfuss added a third-place time of 1:39.60, while Alex Wold rounded out the top four in 1:39.64. The Gophers would later compete in the 100 free and had 11 swimmers finish in the top 12 spots. Kevin Baseheart won the 100 free in 43.39, followed by Carlson in second (44.73) and Kittilstad in third (45.36).
The Maroon and Gold went 1,2,3,4,5 in the 100 breaststroke. Lee-To clocked a winning time of 54.92 as Portela finished in 58.41. Clarson added a third-place showing (58.42), while Knaak was fourth (58.70) and Zach Weis was fifth (59.36). In the second session, Ivan Gutesa won the 200 breast (2:00.76) as Hills (2:01.17) and Schaefer (2:02.31) in second and third.
Karl Burdis led the Gophers in the 100 back when he won the event in 49.36. He would add to his win total when he clocked a time of 1:49.05 in the 200 back for the win.
Minnesota added another top-four finishes in the 1,650 freestyle. Mike Holmes won the 1,650 free in 15:34.55, while Zebley finished second in 15:42.59. Michael Daup was third (15:55.79) and David Hawker was fourth (15:58.69) in the same event.
Alex Stern led the Gopher divers when he finished second in the 1-meter with a score of 277.30. Tyler Jepsen was seventh with a score of 252.00.