Dec. 4, 2010

Courtesy Texas athletics

AUSTIN, Texas -- Texas junior Jackson Wilcox registered his second win of the meet Saturday evening as he captured the 1,650-yard freestyle during the final session of the Texas Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame Invitational.

Texas claimed the team title at the three-day event with 1,148 points. Arizona took second place with 1,003 points, and Wisconsin placed third with 446 points.

Wilcox captured the 1,650-yard freestyle with an impressive time, a NCAA "B" cut of 14:53.38. Sophomore Michael McBroom added a second-place showing with a NCAA "B" cut of 14:58.07. Senior Jim Robertson took fourth place with a NCAA "B" cut of 15:33.54. Junior Drew Livingston led the Texas divers with a second-place total of 433.55 points in the platform diving event. Freshman Will Chandler placed sixth with 257.45 points, and freshman Will McCraney took seventh place with 244.25 points.

Sophomore Austin Surhoff paced Texas with a third-place showing of 1:43.19 in the 200 backstroke. Senior Bryan Collins took fourth in 1:45.22, and junior Hayes Johnson placed fifth with a NCAA "B" cut of 1:45.70. Freshman Patrick Murphy claimed the consolation final in 1:46.32.

Junior Jimmy Feigen took second in the 100 freestyle with a NCAA "B" cut of 42.77, and sophomore Dax Hill placed fourth at 43.23. Junior Scott Jostes took third in the consolation final at 44.70. Junior Eric Friedland posted the top finish for Texas in the 200 breaststroke with a fourth-place time of 1:56.32, good for a NCAA "B" cut. Sophomore Nick D'Innocenzo followed in fifth at 1:56.89, and senior Scott Spann took sixth in 1:57.06. Senior Brian Wilson placed eighth in 1:59.71.

Junior Neil Caskey paced the Horns in the night's final individual event, the 200 butterfly, where he took third with a NCAA "B" cut of 1:46.13. Sophomore Cole Cragin placed fifth with a NCAA "B" cut of 1:47.93. Texas wrapped up the evening by taking second in the 400 freestyle relay, as UT finished with a NCAA "B" cut of 2:53.99. Jostes led off in 44.54 before Feigen picked up the second leg in 42.70. Hill split 42.63 on the third leg before junior Kyle McNeilis anchored in 44.12.