Albright Athletics

WILKES-BARRE, Pa. – Fueled by MAC Rookie of the Year Steve Thomas and Co-MAC Swimmers of the Year Eric Kramer and Adam Kurtz, the Lions recorded a combined 761 points to earn the program's fifth conference title.

Head coach John Stuhltrager was named the Men's Coach of the Year and Co-Women's Coach of the Year, sharing the honor with Misericordia's coach Jason Morini. The men's coach of the year honor marks the second in the career of Stuhltrager, while the women's coach of the year honor is his fifth overall and first since 2008.

On the final day of the conference championship the red and white saw two more program records fall on the men's side, with Kramer setting a new mark in the 100 free with his time of 47.15. Joe Deighan became the new record holder in the 1,650 free with his time of 16:38.36. That time also set a new pool record as well.

Madi Hauk earned a gold medal in the 200 fly.

Overall men's swimming swam away with four more gold medals on Sunday, with sophomore Madison Hauk earning the only first place finish for the women's team. Combined the Lions finished the weekend with 10 gold medals.

Chris Sheerer and Kurtz also swam away with wins on Sunday. Sheerer won the 200 back with a time of 1:53.63, while Kurtz closed out his spectacular weekend with a first place finish in the 200 fly with his time of 1:59.76.

In the men's 1,650 free the Lions swam away with four of the top-6 finishes to keep the Lions ahead of Widener University. Freshman Tricia Janowiak earned a third place finish in the 200 back (2:13.82), and it was a third place finish by Thomas in the men's 200 back (1:56.31) that added 16 more points to the Lions score.

Mike McBride and Tim Pierce were also top-6 finishers in the men's 100 free. Matt Bauer finished in 11th in the men's 200 breast (2:19.87).

Zach McElheny swam his way to a second place finish in the men's 200 fly with his time of 2:00.44 to give Albright an additional 17 points.