WEBSTER, N.Y. – Ithaca captured the overall team title at the Upper New York State Collegiate Swimming Association and Empire 8 Championship meet. The Bombers rallied from a 67-point deficit in the team standings on the final day of competition and totaled 1,325 points to place first in a field of 13 teams.

The Bombers defeated second-place Stevens by 16 points to win Ithaca's first state and conference title since the 2003-04 season, and Ithaca's fourth all-time Empire 8 championship. The four-day meet was held at the Webster Aquatic Center.

Coach Kevin Markwardt earned Empire 8 Coach of the Year honors and diving coach Nate Brisley won Diving Coach of the Year.

Junior Jeff Rapp made an NCAA B qualifying standard and placed second in the finals of the 200-yard backstroke with a school-record time of 1:52.50.

The Bomber divers totaled 95 team points in the finals and preliminaries on the 3-meter board. Junior Derek Rand placed second with a total of 492.95 and hit 501.25 in the preliminaries. Both of those scores met the NCAA provisional qualifying mark. Sophomore Martin Brown also hit to NCAA scores and placed third in the finals with a score of 470.65. Senior Mike Glicini scored 452.05 in the finals to place fifth and meet the NCAA mark.

Ithaca's 400-yard freestyle relay included junior Antoine Connors, sophomore Jake Robbins, freshman John Carr and sophomore Chris Cadwell and that group placed second in the finals with a time of 3:07.26.

Connors and Cadwell also advanced to the finals of the 100-yard freestyle, as Cadwell finished fifth with a time of 47.05 seconds and Connors swam 47.34 seconds to place seventh.

Freshman Cheffy Thomas was fifth in the finals of the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:10.36. Sophomore Jake Lichter placed eighth in the finals with a time of 2:13.53.