MINNEAPOLIS -- California held off defending champion Texas to win its first men’s NCAA swimming championship in 31 years on Saturday night.

Cal’s Graeme Moore, Josh Daniels, Tom Shields and Nathan Adrian clinched the title by winning the 400-yard freestyle relay in 2 minutes, 47.39 seconds.

Championship Central
Complete Meet Results

Adrian also won the 100 freestyle in 41.10 seconds.

Duke’s Nick McCory scored 548.90 points to win his second straight platform diving title, denying Purdue’s David Boudia’s bid to become the first male to sweep all three diving events.

Texas won two events, but couldn’t erase a 63 1/2 -point deficit to win the team title. Cal finished with 493 points and Texas 470 1/2 . Stanford scored 403 points to claim third.

Texas sophomore Michael McBroom won the 1,650 freestyle in 14:32.86 to start the night. Texas took the lead by a half-point after Eric Friedland won the 200 breaststroke in 1:52.43.

One year after finishing first, but getting disqualified for an illegal one-handed touch on the first turn, Georgia’s Mark Dylla won the 200 butterfly in 1:40.60.

Arizona junior Cory Chitwood won the 200 backstroke in 1:38.34.