CHRISTIANSBURG, Va. -- No. 15 Virginia captured its fifth-consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference championship, holding onto a slim lead throughout the day, and clinching the victory in the final race of the meet.

The championship is the 13th in the last 14 years for the Cavaliers and 15th overall, all of which have come under coach Mark Bernardino, tying him for most in ACC men's swimming history with North Carolina State's Don Easterling.

Florida State’s Mateo De Angulo was named the ACC Meet Most Valuable Swimmer for his performance during the week, finishing with three medals, gold in the 500 freestyle and 1650 freestyle and silver in the 400 individual medley.

ACC Championship Top Five
1 Virginia 626.5
2 Virginia Tech 594. 5
3 North Carolina 564
4 Florida State 542
5 NC State 334.5

No. 21 Virginia Tech’s Logan Shinholser was named the ACC Men's Most Valuable Diver honor last week after winning the gold in the one- and three-meter springboard championships, and the silver on the platform.

The Cavaliers won with final score of 626.5, beating Virginia Tech's 594.5, No. 13 North Carolina's 564, and Florida State's 542.

De Angulo won his second gold of the week with a 14:53.68 mark in the 1650-yard freestyle, the first race of the night. Virginia's Bradley Phillips touched the wall in 15:06.95, and North Carolina's Brett Nagle won the bronze with a time of 15:10.47.

In the 200-yard backstroke, Clemson’s Chris Dart successfully defended his 200-yard backstroke title from last year, finishing in 1:42.98, claiming his third medal of the week. Virginia’s Brady Fox came in second in 1:43.10 to earn 17 points for the Cavaliers, and Florida State’s Josh Friedel came in third in 1:44.59.

Clemson’s Eric Bruck made it back-to-back gold medals for the Tigers in the 100-yard freestyle, capturing his second individual gold with a time of 43.11. He narrowly defeated Virginia's Peter Geissinger, who posted a 43.19, and Steve Cebertowicz's time of 43.21. The Cavaliers increased their meet lead by 40 points, and led by 44.5 with three races remaining.

Georgia Tech’s Anton Lagerqvist captured the first 200-yard breaststroke title in Georgia Tech history, finishing in 1:57.01. Duke's Piotr Safronczyk fell just short, touching the wall in 1:57.03. Florida State’s Juan Sequera claimed the bronze with a finish of 1:57.85.

Virginia Tech placed four swimmers in the championship final in the 200-yard butterfly, placing third, fourth, seventh and eighth to decrease the Cavalier lead to 22 points, 594.5-572.5. North Carolina’s Tom Luchsinger took home gold, his second of the week, with a time of 1:44.53. Tar Heel teammate Dominick Glavich won silver with a mark of 1:44.65.

Virginia's 400-yard freestyle relay squad of Peter Geissinger, Tom Barrett, David Karasek, and Parker Camp clinched the championship for the Cavaliers with a bronze-medal finish in the final event. Florida State's relay team won gold in 2:52.65, and North Carolina grabbed silver with a time of 2:53.07.