MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- No. 13 Minnesota defeated Wisconsin 191-100 Friday at the University Aquatic Center. The Gophers won 13 of the 16 events against the Badgers.

"It went really well," head men's and women's swimming coach Kelly Kremer said. "I think what I'm most pleased with is the team effort from start to finish on both sides. Both teams, our women's team and our men's team, really from start to finish kept the energy high and really swam very well all the way through the meet. It was good to see a complete meet, it was really good."

The Gophers kicked off the border battle with a victory in the 200 medley relay. Andrew Hartbarger, Jared Anderson, Kyler Van Swol and Derek Toomey posted a time of 1:30.59, which was the best time this season for the Gophers.

Anderson followed up his performance in the relay with a strong showing in the 100 breast, where he recorded a NCAA provisional qualifying time of 55:11 to claim first-place honors. He went on to notch his third title of the night in the 200 breast with a time of 2:03.40 Max Cartwright finished closely behind in second with a time of 2:03.41.

Hartbarger earned another first-place honor by winning the 100 back, touching the wall with a career-best time of 50.62. Carl Newenhouse claimed the title in the 200 back (1:48.36) for the Gophers. Sophomore CJ Smith dominated the 1,000 free, taking home first-place honors with a time of 9:10.98.

Van Swol came away with a total of four victories on the night. Along with the 200 medley relay and 400 free relay, he won the 100 fly in 48.65 and the 200 fly with a time of 1:48.46.

Toomey also had a successful night, notching four victories against the Badgers. He won the 50 free with a time of 20:16 and the 100 free in 45.31, along with both relays.

On the diving side, Mikey Ross won one-meter diving with a score of 360.38, while Jordan Lesser claimed the title on the three-meter board with a mark of 362.55.

The Gophers finished off the meet with a victory in the 400 free relay in 3:01.54, made up of Hrvoje Capan, Ben Griggs, Toomey and Van Swol.

"Our men took it on the chin a little bit last year down in Iowa, so we're looking forward to them coming to our pool," Kremer said. "It's going to be a really competitive meet and we're definitely looking forward to it."