CANTON, Ohio -- Wayne State (Mich.) won its third consecutive GLIAC Championship on Saturday, topping Grand Valley State by 16.5 points to earn the title. The Warriors have won eight of the past 11 conference championships.

Leading from start to finish at the four-day conference meet, the Warriors finished with 780 points. GVSU followed in second place with 763.5 points.

Following the conclusion of the meet, WSU swimming and diving head coach Sean Peters was named the Men's Coach of the Year, along with Grand Valley's Andy Boyce and Indianapolis' Andy Kinkead. Peters has earned either the men's or women's conference coaching honor every year since 2002.

1 Wayne State 780.0
2 Grand Valley State 763.5
3 Indianapolis 559.5
4 Ashland 552.5
5 Lewis 386.5

Sophomore Piotr Jachowicz earned the Men's Swimmer of the Year award, winning three conference championships overall. Jachowicz shattered conference and national records during the week. Jachowicz broke a NCAA Division II record with his swim in the 200 IM on Thursday. Jachowicz, who finished with a time of 1:45.92, won the event by more than two seconds. He also established a new conference record in the 100 breaststroke on Friday.

The Warriors won two individual titles on Saturday. Sophomore Lucas Fernandez Vilanova won the 200 backstroke by more than one second, touching the wall at 1:46.67. Junior Kristian Larsen also earned a conference championship, topping the field in the 100 freestyle with a time of 45.34.

Leading by 72 points to start the final round of events, WSU started Saturday off strong as the Warriors had six swimmers place in the top 13 in the 1,650 freestyle. Senior Cameron Weaver finished in third place and freshman Jack Dischler placed sixth. Junior Jordan Papp touched the wall in 10th, junior Cameron Fryzel finished 11th, junior Calvin Reder placed 12th and senior Eric Platte earned 13th for the Warriors.

Senior Nathan Hesche joined Fernandez Vilanova in the 200 backstroke finals and finished in seventh with a time of 1:49.75.

Sophomore Kyle Taylor won his consolation final and placed ninth overall in the 100 freestyle with a time of 46.48. After the 100 freestyle, WSU had a 46.5-point lead with three events remaining.

WSU had three swimmers in the 200 breaststroke championship finals. Freshman Jayson Hansen posted a time of 2:04.55 to finish in sixth, Weaver touched the wall at 2:05.11 to earn a seventh place finish and Nick Victor placed eighth with a time of 2:06.07. Following the 200 breaststroke, WSU upped its advantage to 51.5 points.

Reder placed third to lead WSU in the 200 butterfly, which was the last individual event of the meet. Senior Joaquin Abascal Gallegos finished in fifth place in the 200 butterfly and Fryzel finished in 15th place for the Warriors. Wayne State had a 26.5-point lead ahead of GVSU heading into the final event, the 400 freestyle relay.

In the 400 freestyle relay, the foursome of Jachowicz, Fernandez Vilanova, Taylor and Larsen put together a clean relay earning 30 points and clinching the victory in the final event for WSU.

The WSU women's squad also won at the 2013 GLIAC Swimming & Diving Championships, marking the third consecutive year that Wayne State has swept the titles at the conference meet.