BUFFALO, N.Y. -- SUNY Cortland won its first State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) title since 1998, and in the process ended SUNY Geneseo’s 14-year reign as league champion, at the three-day conference meet that concluded Saturday at Erie Community College’s Burt Flickinger Center.

Cortland won its seventh overall SUNYAC title with 795 points, with Geneseo second at 726 points. The Red Dragons were the last team to win the title before Geneseo started its run. Oneonta (585), Fredonia (380) and Potsdam (295) rounded out the top five in the nine-school field. Head coach Brian Tobin was chosen as SUNYAC Men's Swimming and Diving Coach of the Year following the meet. He previously won the award in 2010 and 2006.

The Red Dragons’ 400 freestyle relay team of freshman Mark Schoenherr and seniors Ben Strickland, Dan Maximowicz and Judd Simon broke SUNYAC, meet and school records with its winning time of 3:06.24. The previous conference and meet record was 3:06.31 by Geneseo in 2009, and the previous school record was 3:06.40 by Dan Evans, Caleb VanSickle, Strickland and Matt Young in 2010.

Three Cortland swimmers broke individual school records. Senior Justin Nelson broke the school mark in the 200 backstroke with his second-place and NCAA “B” cut time of 1:51.75. He held the old school record at 1:53.15 from last season, then eclipsed that time in the prelims (1:53.07) before shattering the mark in the finals.

Freshman Mathew Hasbrouck broke the school 200 butterfly record in prelims with a time of 1:56.13, then knocked more than a second and a half off the mark with his second-place time of 1:54.44 in the finals. The previous school record of 1:56.18 by Jim LaLonde had stood for 32 years.

Freshman Andrew Cremer missed the school record in the 1,650 freestyle with his second-place time of 16:18.34, but he swam the first 1,000 yards of the race in 9:45.54 to break the school mark in the 1,000 freestyle of 9:51.06 set by David Dow in 2009.

Schoenherr finished third in the 100 freestyle (46.87), junior Brandon McManus was fourth in the 1,650 freestyle (16:35.51) and Simon placed fourth in the 200 backstroke (1:53.89). Maximowicz finished fourth in the 100 freestyle (47.13) and Strickland was fourth in the 200 breaststroke (2:10.07).

Freshman Jack Jakubek finished fifth in the 200 breaststroke (2:10.26) and junior Luke Strothenke touched the wall sixth in the 100 freestyle (47.58). Sophomore Antrico Forbes won the “B” final in the 100-yard freestyle (48.18) for a ninth-place finish.

Freshman Lee Wade placed sixth in 3-meter diving with 386.10 points. Junior Kyle McManus finished ninth in 3-meter diving (319.25 points) and junior Dominic Lenzo was 11th in 3-meter diving (267.30 points)