swimming-men-d1 flag

Michigan Athletics | December 9, 2013

Michigan takes first at Winter Nationals

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Sophomore Dylan Bosch became the second Michigan swimmer in as many nights to set records at AT&T Winter Nationals, re-setting his Big Ten and U-M record in the 200-yard butterfly (1:41.01) on Saturday inside the Allan Jones Aquatic Center. As a team, Michigan took first at the three-day meet (318 points), ahead of second-place SwimMAC Carolina (262) and college contenders California (214.5) and Louisville (137).

Bosch won the race by more than a second and a half and surpassed the NCAA 'A' standard by more than two seconds. He shaved 1.94 seconds off his time from preliminaries to finals (1:42.95 to 1:41.01) and now holds the nation's fastest time so far this season. He previously held both Big Ten and program records at 1:41.18, set earlier this year at the Big Ten championships. On Friday, senior Michael Wynalda set the same records in the 200-yard freestyle (1:32.91).

Bosch was not the only champion on Saturday, however, as senior Connor Jaeger won the 1,650-yard freestyle (14:39.02), bettering the NCAA 'A' cut by more than eight seconds. Sophomore Anders Nielsen was right behind in third place (14:47.88), missing the 'A' standard by seven-tenths of a second. He was one of three others to get NCAA 'B' times along with freshman Cameron Stitt in 15th (15:21.60) and senior Sean Ryan in 17th (15:24.34).

Two others joined Bosch in the final of the 200-yard butterfly. Senior Kyle Whitaker was fifth (1:43.81) and senior John Wojciechowski was seventh (1:45.70). Both were NCAA 'B' cuts.

That depth was also evident in the 200-yard breaststroke, as four men finished in the top 14. Junior Richard Funk was the team's top swimmer in the event, taking fourth (1:55.01). Three others scored points in the consolation final, including senior Kyle Duckitt in 10th (1:58.24), freshman Chris Klein in 12th (1:58.79) and sophomore Matt McNamara in 14th (1:59.13). All four times met the NCAA 'B' standard.

Senior Ryutaro Kamiya was the team's top finisher in the 200-yard backstroke, touching the wall in 12th (1:43.80). Two others were in the consolation final of the 100-yard freestyle, including junior Bruno Ortiz and Wynalda, who were 13th (43.43) and 15th (43.77), respectively.

The Wolverines closed out the meet with another NCAA 'A' cut, as the top team's top quartet of sophomore Peter Brumm, Wynalda, Whitaker and junior Justin Glanda finished fourth in the 400-yard freestyle relay (2:52.88).

The Wolverines are next in action after the new year.

The college careers of the 2021 US Olympic wrestlers

Here's a close look at the collegiate careers of the men's freestyle, women's freestyle and men's Greco-Roman 2021 Olympic team members.

1 fun-to-watch player from every Sweet 16 team, ranked

Before the 2021 NCAA tournament continues, NCAA.com correspondent Andy Katz ranked his favorite players on each team from this year's Sweet 16 field during the March 23 episode of the March Madness 365 podcast.

Meet the 2021 NCAA college wrestling All-Americans

Only 80 NCAA wrestlers earn this prestigious award every year, so let's meet the eight guys in each of the ten weight classes who earned their spots on the podium.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners