AUSTIN -- Bolstered by national titles in the 200 free and 400 medley relays, California sits only point behind host Texas 146-145 after the first day of the 2014 NCAA men's swimming and diving championships.

Championship Gallery
Final: California claims third title in four years
Complete meet results Final day highlights
Maloof: After slow start, Duke's McCrory makes history
Maloof: More records fall in 'fastest meet in the world'
Maloof: UT's Hixon credits parents for teaching toughness
Day 2: Texas leads field entering final day
Day 2:  Records fall on a busy day in Austin
Maloof: Records fall quickly on busy second day
Maloof: Texas' Hixon captures second title in two days
Day 1: California trails host Texas by a point
Maloof: Texas' Hixon wins one-meter springboard
Maloof: Slow start not a problem for Michigan's Jaegar
Maloof: Wolverines eye repeat of 2013 championship
Qualifying divers | Qualifying swimmers
David Durden's Golden Bears, looking for their third NCAA team title in the past four years after winning crowns in 2011 and 2012, won the 200 free relay with a time of 1:15.27 behind the swims of sophomore Tyler Messerschmidt, freshman Ryan Murphy, senior Tony Cox and junior Seth Stubblefield.

After winning Day One's opening event, the 200 free relay, Cal captured the evening's final event, the 400 medley relay with a time of 3:02.66 from backstroker Murphy, junior breaststroker Chuck Katis, senior butterflyer Marcin Tarczynski and junior freestyler Stubblefield.

"To be honest with you, we just kind of put our heads down and just said,'you know what, we're not supposed to be here. We're not supposed to be in that final.' And we're just like 'you know what, let's go win it' and we just wanted to swim our race and just let everybody else catch up." Messerschmidt said on his mindset during the 200 free relay win.

Other top performances for the Bears were sophomore Josh Prenot placing fifth (1:41.97) and Murphy finishing eighth in the 200 IM. Stubblefield was fifth in the 50 free (18.09), while Cox was 11th (19.28) and Messerschmidt 12th (19.33) in the sprint free.

In the 500 free, senior Jeremy Bagshaw was the B Final champion with a school record 4:13.40, topping the former Cal record of 4:15.04 set by Bear teammate Will Hamilton in 2012.