swimming-men-d1 flag

Texas Athletics | March 29, 2015

Longhorns secure 11th team championship

DI Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Longhorns Will Licon and Joseph Schooling won NCAA titles for a second consecutive night as the Longhorns completed a dominant three-day performance and won their 11th NCAA team title at the 2015 NCAA Division I Men's Swimming and Diving Championships.

The Longhorns led the meet from start to finish and handily claimed the team title with 528 points. California, the 2014 NCAA champion, took second with 399 points while Michigan placed third with 312 points. Southern California took fourth with 278 points and Florida rounded out the top-five with 248 points. 

Head coach Eddie Reese tied former Ohio State coach Mike Peppe for No. 1 all-time with 11 NCAA team titles and was selected as the CSCAA Swimming Coach of the Meet.  Saturday's team trophy marked the first NCAA team championship for Texas since volleyball in 2012. UT now has 48 all-time NCAA team championships and 51 overall national team titles in school history. 

Reese won his first NCAA team title since 2010, and UT notched its 29th top-three NCAA Championships finish in Reese's 37 seasons on the Forty Acres. Texas won six individual swimming titles, the most at a single NCAA Championship meet since 2001, when the Horns won seven en route to UT's eighth NCAA title. 

Texas' seven NCAA individual titles at the 2015 NCAA Championships moves UT's all-time total to 114 individual swimming and diving titles, good for No. 5 all-time (54 individual swimming, 41 swimming relays, 19 diving). UT last won seven events at an NCAA Championship meet in 2004.

The evening began when Sam Lewis shaved over six seconds off of his personal best in an afternoon 1,650 freestyle heat and placed ninth overall at 14:47.99 to earn honorable mention All-America honors. Will Glass placed eighth in the 200 backstroke consolation final and added a point for the Horns at 1:43.20. 

John Murray added 12 points for the Horns by way of his seventh-place showing in the 100 freestyle consolation final in 42.62. Matt Ellis chipped in seven points with his second-place time of 42.44 in the 100 freestyle consolation final.

Licon defeated American record holder Chase Kalisz of Georgia en route to victory Friday in the 400 IM and produced a similar feat in Saturday's finals. Licon matched up against the American record holder in the 200 breaststroke, Arizona's Kevin Cordes, and edged Cordes by five one-hundredths of a second. 

Cordes led Licon at the 150-yard mark but Licon out-split Cordes by about half a second down the stretch to take the narrow win. Licon, who also finished as the runner-up in the 200 IM, became UT's first NCAA champion in the 200 breaststroke since Eric Friedland in 2011. 

Texas collected a bundle of points in the next event, as UT placed three Longhorns in the 200 butterfly championship final. London Olympian Joseph Schooling of Singapore became the first Longhorn to sweep the 100 and 200 butterfly at the NCAA Championships and the first UT swimmer to even win both events in his career. 

Schooling edged the event's American record holder, teammate Jack Conger, and took the win in 1:39.62. Conger finished just off the pace in 1:39.74. Clark Smith was disqualified for a one-hand touch at the wall.  Schooling became UT's first NCAA champion in the event since Rainer Kendrick in 2004.

All-America sophomore Mark Anderson made his first championship final on platform and placed sixth in the event Saturday evening with 432.0 points. UT enjoyed a typically strong performance from its divers and earned an All-America honor on all three boards. 

Texas closed out its 11th NCAA title victory by taking fourth in the 400 freestyle relay at 2:49.10 (Ellis 42.72, Conger 42.17, Darmody 42.47, Schooling 41.74). 

Top 150 college baseball prospects in the 2022 MLB Draft

Here is the D1 Baseball staff's final top 150 list of college baseball prospects who should hear their name called in the MLB Draft starting July 17.

The top 150 college softball players in 2022

These are the top 150 college softball players from the 2022 season, ranked by the experts from d1softball.com based on offensive stats, defensive impact, how valuable they were to their team and postseason success.

Here are the college baseball coaches with the most College World Series victories

These are the 12 coaches who have the most wins in the Men's College World Series.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners