In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

swimming-men-d3 flag | February 16, 2014

DIII: St. Olaf wrecks pattern; wins second consecutive Minnesota Intercollegiate title

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics Conference Championships

MINNEAPOLIS -- Tenth-ranked St. Olaf had established a pattern, winning every-other Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) championship since 2007. However, the Oles broke the cycle Saturday night by winning their second consecutive championship Saturday night at the Minnesota Aquatic Center. St. Olaf pulled away from the field at the 2014 MIAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships to capture its fifth MIAC crown in eight years.

The title is also a significant milestone for the Oles and Coaches Bob and Dave Hauck and Maya Hamilton. St. Olaf now has an even 30 MIAC championships, the most in conference history. St. Thomas (Minn.), which finished as the runner-up for the second-consecutive season after narrowly defeating the Oles for the title in 2012, has the second-most all-time titles with 21.

Second-place St. Thomas also had a lot to celebrate, as sophomore Mike Lanz was named the 2014 MIAC Men's Swimmer-of-the-Year and teammate Nick Johnson received his second MIAC Men's Diver-of-the-Year award. The St. Olaf coaching staff were voted the 2014 MIAC Men's Swimming Coaches of the Year, and Macalester's Jake Dunn was voted MIAC Diving Coach of the Year, both coaching awards are repeats of 2013.

The Oles finished more than 100 points better than the rest of the field en route to their title, as they amassed 848 points. The Tommies score 740 to finish second, as the two rivals distanced themselves from the pack. Carleton scored 536 points to edge a competitive trio for third place, with Gustavus (498.5) edging Saint John's (429) for fifth. Hamline scored 150.5 to finish in sixth place, and Macalester edged Saint Mary's by 14 points, 126 to 112, to conclude the 2014 team standings.

North Coast Athletics Conference Championships

Top-ranked Denison successfully won its sixth-consecutive North Coast Athletic Conference Swimming & Diving Championships at the 30th annual event, hosted at DU's own Trumbull Aquatics Center.

Denison won nine events en route to earning 1,898.5 points to edge No. 2 Kenyon for the sixth year in a row. In addition to the event wins, the Big Red earned 19 additional All-NCAC finishes and set two conference records. Kenyon earned second place with 1,851 points after winning 10 races, setting four conference records and posting 16 additional All-NCAC finishes. DePauw finished third with 1,245.5 points, followed by Wabash (958), Oberlin (683), Ohio Wesleyan (625.5), Wittenberg (596), Wooster (541.5), Allegheny (475) and Hiram (198).