In Case You Missed It

In Case You Missed It

Don't miss it

swimming-men-d2 flag | February 22, 2014

Knapp sets backstroke record at Royal Invitational

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Wingate junior Samuel Knapp set a 200 backstroke pool record in the Royal Invitational.

Knapp swam an NCAA Division II "B" cut time of 1:48.05 Saturday. He was one of five Bulldogs to post a "B" cut Saturday. Wingate sophomore Damian Smalls improved his 100 breaststroke pool record with his 55.54 time Saturday. Smalls swam a 55.58 in the same event Friday.

Bulldog junior David Collum swam a 1:51.44 in the 200 Individual Medley, while sophomore Makis Jorgensen recorded a time of 15:48.00 in the grueling 1650 freestyle. Both postings are NCAA Division II "B" cuts.

No. 6 Lindenwood at New South Intercollegiate Conference championship

ST. CHARLES, Mo. -- Lindenwood won the 2014 New South Intercollegiate Swim Conference championship on Saturday evening. The title is the first NCAA Division II conference championship for the program, and the team is the fifth at Lindenwood to win a conference championship at the NCAA level.

The Lions finished the competition with 992.5 points and finished 70.5 points ahead of runner-up Delta State. Lindenwood grabbed a narrow lead on the first day of the event and held on to it for the rest of the competition. The rest of the field included Henderson State (682), Ouachita Baptist (534.5), and Emmanuel (301).

David Cochran was named the Diver of the Meet and Chris Pape was the Diving Coach of the Year. Jason Owen was named the NSISC Co-Swimming Coach of the Year.

Lindenwood won 12 of the 21 races at the competition, including four participants who won two individual races each. Igor Mijatovic won the 1,000 and 1,650 free races, Gustavo Silva Santa won the 200 and 500 free events, Mateusz Pacholczyk won the 100 and 200 breast, and Cochran won both one-meter and three-meter diving events. The other individual winner was Felix Eigel in the 400 IM. In the relays, Lindenwood won the 400 and 800 free relays, and the 200 medley relay.

No. 7 Florida Southern at Sunshine State Conference championship

ORLANDO -- With Florida Southern holding a 125-point lead going into the final day of the Sunshine State Conference championships, Juan Tolosa and Thomas Nguyen made sure Nova Southeastern never got close enough to mount a serious threat. With that pair giving them two wins right out of the gate, the Moccasins wrapped up their second consecutive SSC title, while the Sharks fell to third behind Tampa.

Florida Southern scored 914 points in the meet, with Tampa taking Nova with 759 points. The Sharks, who were SSC champions in 2011 and 2012, and the runner-up in 2013, finished with 736. The Moccasins went out strong too, winning four of the five individual events on Saturday, as junior Spencer Rowe and sophomore Raul Garrastazu winning the 200 breaststroke and 200 butterfly respectively, after Tolosa and Nguyen started the day in the 1650 freestyle and 200 backstroke.

Tolosa and Rowe were second and third in the individual point totals used to determine the SSC Men’s Swimmer-of-the-Meet. That award went to Saint Leo sophomore Matheus Assis, who was the only swimmer to win three individual titles. He also won that honor last season.