Feb. 16, 2009

Courtesy of Puget Sound Athletics

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - The Puget Sound Loggers held on to the Northwest Conference women's swimming championship for 11 years before the 2008 meet.  On Sunday night, the Loggers recaptured the hardware for their 12th title in the last 13 years.  The Loggers men also had an outstanding meet, finishing second to Whitworth.

The Loggers first win of the final session came in the men's 200 Backstroke as Jackson Kowalski (Keizer, Ore./McNary) improved his B-Cut qualifying time, winning the event with a mark of 1:51.96.

In the women's 200 Breaststroke, Sierra Phillips (Cottonwood Heights, Utah/Brighton) picked up a B-Cut Qualifying time, winning the conference title in the event with a time of 2:25.08.  In the men's 200 Breast, senior Paul Hughes (Ruston, Wash./Curtis) battled with Whitworth's Rory Buck, taking second with a time of 2:07.53.

The Loggers used a deep roster to pull away from Whitworth in the women's standings and stay close to the Pirates in the men's standings.  In the end, the Logger women edged out the Pirates by just 12 points to reclaim the NWC crown with 777 points.  On the men's side, the Loggers finished a little over 60 points behind Whitworth with a score of 675.5.

Puget Sound head coach Chris Myhre was named NWC Coach of the Year on both the men's and women's side, marking the third time that he has won each.

The Loggers will now wait for official word on invitations to the 2009 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championship, which will be held on Mar. 18-21 at University Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn.