swimming-women-d2 flag

NCAA.com | February 23, 2014

Kosheleva leads Wingate in Royal Invitational in Charlotte

ORLANDO -- Florida Southern cut Tampa’s lead at the Sunshine State Conference championships all the way down inside of 30 points, but in the final two individual events of the meet, the Spartans were able to pull away for their third title in four years. The Moccasins’ runner-up finish though, equaled their best at the SSC championships, as sophomores Alli Crenshaw, Kelsey Gouge, and Lauren Reynolds all had two individual titles, with Crenshaw edging Reynolds as women’s Swimmer-of-the-Meet.

The Moccasins have now finished second at the SSC championships in 2011 and 2014, while the Spartans have won the league in 2011, 2013, and 2014. This year, the Spartans out-scored the Moccasins 868-796, with Nova Southeastern a distant third with 600 points. In terms of event wins though, Florida Southern was the leader with nine while Tampa had seven. Saint Leo won the remaining three.

With the Swimmer-of-the-Meet award given to the individual with the most points, both Crenshaw and Reynolds finished tied with 57 apiece. That was only one more point than Gouge scored for the Moccasins, or Saint Leo freshman Nicole Weber had. Crenshaw won the award on a tie-breaker based on setting a meet record in the 200-freestyle during one of the relay races. She’s the second Moccasin women’s swimmer to be named the SSC Swimmer-of-the-Meet, joining Mary O’Sullivan from 2011.

No. 6 Wingate at Royal Invitational

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- For Wingate at the Royal Invitational, redshirt freshman Olga Kosheleva swam an NCAA Division II "B" cut in the 100 breaststroke with her time of 1:04.69. Kosheleva was All-Bluegrass Mountain Conference in three events this season. She was second to teammate Jessika Weiss in both the 100 and the 200 breaststroke races as Wingate won the 2014 Bluegrass Mountain Conference crown.

No. 8 Delta State at New South Intercollegiate Championships

CLEVELAND, Miss. -- After all the events were completed, the Lady Statesmen repeated as New South Intercollegiate Swim Conference champions. The meet concluded with several members of Delta State Swim and Dive earning meet superlative awards.

Maria Torres (17:22.59) started action off a victory for the Lady Statesmen in the 1,650 freestyle, ahead of Kim Barna (17:47.75). Torres repeated her victory from the 2013 NSISC Championship - where she established the meet record in the event.

Anastasia Klyarovskaya (1:58.81) and Kierstin Page (2:02.42) took the top two places in the 200 backstroke. Evan Parker (2:06.32) placed fifth overall.

Melanie Tombers (2:16.83) won the 200 breaststroke, with Kirsten Stroven (2:25.32) placing fourth in the event. Tombers set new NSISC and school records with the victory.

Klyarovskaya (2:03.49) and Danielle Dugas (2:06.83) earned B-Cut with second and third place finishes in the 200 butterfly behind Jeanne Miller of Henderson State.

West Florida (3:27.74) set new NSISC and pool records in the 400 freestyle, while the Lady Statesmen took runner-up honors (3:29.64) while setting another DSU record.

Dani Meerholz was voted as Co-Swimmer of the meet, tying for a meet high 60 points.

T9 Cal Baptist at Rocky Mountain Athletics Championships

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. -- In its first Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Championship, Cal Baptist grabbed first, with the women sweeping the board with accolades.

Courtney Chacon won Freshman of the Year, Mary Hanson won Swimmer of the Year and Yosita Hapsari won swimmer of the meet. Breanne Schlenger won Diver of the Year as well as Diver of the Meet.

Over the course of the four-day meet, the women tallied a staggering 1,092 points with gold medals in 18 of 19 events including 4 team relays and grabbing the gold and silver medals on both the 1-meter and 3-meter platforms.