swimming-women-d1 flag

Pat Ralph | Excelle Sports | October 20, 2017

Katie Ledecky named as one of Women's Sports Foundation Sportswomen of the Year

Katie Ledecky and Maya Moore were named the Women’s Sports Foundation (WSF) Sportswomen of the Year on Wednesday during the organization’s Salute to Women gala.

More from ExcelleSports.com

Get the latest NCAA news from Excelle Sports

Ledecky was the victor in the individual sports category after capturing four golds and one silver at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. During her freshman year at Stanford, Ledecky won five NCAA titles and set nine American records to help the Cardinal win the national title. She then won five gold medals this past summer at the World Championships in Budapest. Ledecky is the fifth swimmer to win the award, the first since Erin Popovich in 2005.

Moore won the award in the team sports category, as she helped lead the Minnesota Lynx to their fourth WNBA title in seven years earlier this month. Named the 2017 WNBA All-Star Game MVP, Moore is the eighth basketball player to earn the title. The last basketball player to win the award was Candace Parker in 2013.

The U.S. women’s national hockey team was honored with the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award for their fight for equitable pay to the men’s national hockey team.

15-meter video review option approved in swimming

The NCAA Playing Rules Oversight Panel approved allowing the use of video review to determine whether 15-meter violations were called accurately in men’s and women’s swimming.

Video review option recommended for NCAA swimming

The NCAA Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Rules Committee last week proposed allowing the use of video review to determine if 15-meter violations were called accurately. 

Denison, Emory win NCAA DIII swimming and diving championships

The championships will be held March 20-23 at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, North Carolina. Follow along here for the latest news and results.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners