Armstrong Atlantic 7, Shaw 0

May 6, 2005

SAVANNAH, Ga. The No. 4-ranked Armstrong Atlantic State men's tennis team picked up a 7-0 win over Shaw University on Friday to advance to the NCAA Division II Mid-Atlantic Region Championship. It was the red-hot Pirates' ninth consecutive win.

AASU swept all three doubles matches as Robert Jendelund and Dale White knocked off Kabiru Ibrahim and Ricardo Munar, 8-4, at No. 1 doubles. Peter Dedik and Davor Zink defeated Olayiwola Enitan and Emmanuel Ameh, 8-2, at No. 2 doubles, while Taavo Roos and Jeremy Mastnak downed Olwaseyi Bamigbade and Daniel Sabogal, 8-2, at No. 3 doubles.

AASU then got singles wins from the middle four positions as Dale White, Peter Dedik, Davor Zink and Jeremy Mastnak all came up straight-set winners. AASU will now face GC&SU in the men's region final on Saturday afternoon at the AASU Tennis Complex.

The winner of the Mid-Atlantic Region earns one of 16 berths in the NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships in Altamonte Springs, Fla., on May 11-14.

#1 - Kabiru Ibrahim (Shaw) led Robert Jendelund (AASU) 7-6 (4), match stopped, clinched
#2 - Dale White (AASU) def. Ricardo Munar (Shaw) 6-1, 6-0
#3 - Peter Dedik (AASU) def. Daniel Sabogal (Shaw) 6-1, 6-0
#4 - Davor Zink (AASU) def. Olwaseyi Bamigbade (Shaw) 6-1, 6-0
#5 - Jeremy Mastnak (AASU) def. Olayiwola Enitan (Shaw) 6-2, 6-1
#6 - David Secker (AASU) led Emmanuel Ameh (Shaw) 6-0, 5-0, match stopped, clinched

Doubles #1 - Jendelund/White (AASU) def. Ibrahim/Munar (Shaw) 8-4
#2 - Dedik/Zink (AASU) def. Enitan/Ameh (Shaw) 8-2
#3 - Mastnak/Taavo Roos (AASU) def. Bamigbade/Sabogal (Shaw) 8-2

Records: AASU (19-6), Shaw (16-6)

--Courtesy Armstrong Atlantic