Trinity (TX) University 4, Pacific Lutheran (WA) 0

May 7, 2005

SAN ANTONIO - The seventh-ranked Trinity Tigers men's tennis team advanced to the NCAA Division III quarterfinals with a 4-0 West Region victory Saturday over the No. 9 Pacific Lutheran (Wash.) Lutes at Delavan Tennis Stadium.

Trinity (18-7) will play May 18-20 in the NCAA team championship at the University of California-Santa Cruz. It will mark Trinity's fifth trip to the quarterfinals in the past six years and fourth in a row. The Tigers won the national championship in 2000.

Tiger senior Nick Kaloudis of Sandy, Utah (Skyline), clinched the match on Saturday for Trinity by winning No. 6 singles. Kaloudis defeated Jeff Loranger 6-4, 6-4.

Trinity took a 1-0 lead after winning two of three doubles matches. The No. 2 Trinity team of senior Stefan Parker of Cupertino, Calif., (Monta Vista), and first-year Oliver Gaines of Bethesda, Md. (Walter Johnson), won the tightly played match 8-6 over David Miller and Justin Larimore to give the Tigers the lead.

Junior John Matthews of Ingram, Texas (Ingram), won No. 3 singles by beating Ben Schaefer 6-4, 6-0. Gaines gave the Tigers a 2-0 lead in a 6-4, 6-2 victory over Justin Larimore at No. 5 singles.

Pacific Lutheran finished its season with a 21-3 record. The only win for the Lutes was at No. 1 doubles as Richard Butenko and Matt Larimore beat Trinity's Stuart Row and Jim Shaughnessy 8-2.

The NCAA will announce its men's singles and doubles bids Monday. The individual tournament will be played May 21-23 at Santa Cruz.

Trinity's fifth-ranked women (20-3-1) host No. 9 Hardin-Simmons (16-6) Sunday in a regional match at noon. The winner goes onto the NCAA quarterfinals May 18-20 at Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, Mich.


3. John Matthews (TU) def. Ben Schaefer (PLU) 6-4, 6-0
5. Oliver Gaines (TU) def. Justin Larimore (PLU) 6-4, 6-2
6. Nick Kaloudis (TU) def. Jeff Loranger (PLU) 6-4, 6-4

DOUBLES: (Trinity won the doubles point)
1. Ricky Butenko/Matt Larimore (PLU) def. Stuart Row/Jim Shaughnessy (TU) 8-2
2. Oliver Gaines/Stefan Parker (TU) def. David Miller/Justin Larimore (PLU) 8-6
3. Nick Kaloudis/John Matthews (TU) def. Ben Schaefer/Jeff Loranger (PLU) 8-2

--Courtesy Trinity