April 28, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships.
First- and second-round competition will be conducted Friday-Saturday, May 8-9, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M University.  The team championship will be held May 14-19. 

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion.  The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets.  Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

The complete list of teams and sites can be found in the bracket.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

America East – Binghamton
Atlantic 10 – Xavier
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – South Florida
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Radford
Big Ten – Ohio State
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – UC Santa Barbara
Colonial – North Carolina-Wilmington
C-USA – Tulsa
Horizon – Cleveland State
Ivy – Columbia
Metro Atlantic – Marist
MAC – Western Michigan
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Southern Illinois
Mountain West – New Mexico
Northeast – Sacred Heart
Ohio Valley – Jacksonville State
Pacific-10 – UCLA
Patriot – Navy
SEC – Mississippi
Southern – Furman
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Alcorn State
Summit – UMKC
Sun Belt – Middle Tennessee
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Hawaii