April 29, 2009


NCAA Release

- The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the teams and 16 preliminary-round sites for the 2009 NCAA Division II Men’s Tennis Championships.

The 16 preliminary-round tournaments will be conducted May 7-8, 8-9 or 7-9, with the winner of each preliminary-round tournament advancing to the finals in Altamonte Springs, Florida, hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission and Rollins College, May 13-16.  

The championships consist of a 16-team single elimination tournament.  Each of the following eight regions will conduct two preliminary-round tournaments: Atlantic, Central, East, Midwest, South, South Central, Southeast and West.  The selection of teams for the championships is based on prescribed criteria listed in the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships Handbook and approved by the NCAA Division II Championships Committee.

For information pertaining to teams, dates and site, please see below for the regional brackets.

Fourteen conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 men's championships.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below:

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Shaw
Conference Carolinas – Anderson (South Carolina)
East Coast Conference – Concordia (New York)
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Northwood (Michigan)
Great Lakes Valley Conference – Rockhurst
Gulf South Conference – Valdosta State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association – Washburn
Northeast-10 Conference – Stonehill
Peach Belt Conference – Armstrong Atlantic State
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference – Metropolitan State
South Atlantic Conference – Mars Hill
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Morehouse
Sunshine State Conference – Barry
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – West Virginia Wesleyan

In the final of the 2008 championships, Armstrong Atlantic State University defeated Barry, 5-0.

For more information regarding the NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Championships, log on to www.ncaa.com.


Atlantic Region - Kutztown
Atlantic Region - Bloomsburg
Central Region - Metro State
Central Region - St. Cloud State
East Region - Queens (N.Y.) #1
East Region - Queens (N.Y.) #2
Midwest Region - Northwood (Mich.)
Midwest Region - Rockhurst
South Region - Barry
South Region - Lynn
South Central Region - Abilene Christian
South Central Region - Cameron
Southeast Region - Armstrong Atlantic
Southeast Region - Georgia College
West Region