May 9, 2009

LEXINGTON, Ky. - For second time in three years the 18th-ranked Wake Forest men's tennis team is headed to the NCAA Sweet 16 following a 4-2 upset over No. 11 Kentucky on Saturday in the second round of the NCAA Tournament in Lexington, Ky.

Wake Forest will face the winner of No. 6 Baylor and No. 30 Tulsa, which will wrap up Saturday evening at University of Tulsa. The remaining tournament matches will be played at Texas A&M in College Station, Texas, starting with the Sweet 16 on May 14.

The Deacons are now 22-9, just one win behind the program's highest 23-win season, set in 2007 - the last time Wake Forest advanced to the Sweet 16.

The Deacons dropped the doubles point, but were able to successfully fight through the deficit.

"I couldn't be more proud of the team, the way they fought after not winning the doubles point in front of a hostile SEC crowd," Wake Forest head coach Jeff Zinn said.

Steven Forman fell behind early at No. 2 singles to Brad Cox, but recovered to take a 7-5 win in the first set and 6-3 win in the second to knot the match score at 1-all. The ever-reliable Cory Parr followed with a 6-3, 6-4 upset over sixth-ranked Bruno Antonelli to push the Deacons in front 2-1.

Jason Morgenstern laid down a crucial 7-5, 6-3 victory over Alberto Gonazalez at No. 6 to put Wake Forest within one point of the win. Then things slowed down and the suspense began to build.

Jonathan Wolff dropped a marathon 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 contest at No. 3 to push the Wake Forest advantage back to 3-2. David Hopkins won his first set against Alex Musialik at No. 4, but fell behind with a 7-6 loss in the second set.

At No. 5 Iain Atkinson lost his first set to Graeme Dyce 6-4. He recovered in the second set and held match point at 5-2 in the second set but, but Dyce would win two more games before Atkinson sealed the win with a 6-4 victory.

"This is two trips to the Sweet 16 in the last three years. We were excited to go the first time," Zinn said. "Now hopefully we've learned from that experience and can stay longer in the tournament." For more information on the NCAA Tournament, please visit Texas A&M's Tournament Central.

1. No. 10 Cory Parr (WF) d. No. 6 Bruno Antonelli 6-3, 6-4
2. Steven Forman (WF) d. Brad Cox 7-5, 6-3
3. #115 Eric Quigley d. Jonathan Wolff (WF) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3
4. David Hopkins(WF) vs. Alex Musialik 6-3, 6-7, 2-3 unfinished
5. Iain Atkinson (WF) d. Graeme Dyce 4-6, 6-3, 6-4
6. Jason Morgenstern (WF) vs. Alberto Gonzalez 7-5, 6-3

Order of finish: 2, 1, 6, 3, 5*

1. #6 Steven Forman / Cory Parr (WF) def. #22 Bruno Agostinelli / Brad Cox (UK) 8-3
2. Graeme Dyce / Eric Quigley (UK) def. Iain Atkinson / Carlos Salmon (WF) 8-5
3. Alberto Gonzalez / Alex Musialek (UK) def. David Hopkins / Jonathan Wolff (WF) 8-0

Order of Finish: 3, 1, 2