May 10, 2010

Live BracketPrintable Bracket


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Committee has selected the 42 teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 14-16 or May 13-14. Oberlin College and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 25-27 at the Don Hunsinger Courts in Oberlin, Ohio. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 12.

The championship provides for a 42-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 28 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Nine teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining five teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (14-6)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (13-11)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (20-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter (15-3)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Marywood (15-3)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Salve Regina (13-10)
Commonwealth Conference Lycoming (10-2)
Empire 8 Stevens Institute (18-3)
Freedom Conference Wilkes (15-2)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania (12-5)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther (33-8)
Landmark Conference Drew (12-6)
Little East Conference Western Connecticut State (13-0)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Kalamazoo (20-5)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (22-5)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Carleton (19-3)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury (18-2)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (19-6)
Northern Athletics Conference Milwaukee Engr. (10-5)
Northwest Conference Whitman (20-4)
Ohio Athletic Conference Ohio Northern (19-2)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (15-7)
Skyline Conference St. Joseph's (Long Island) (15-4)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (19-4)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (16-9)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri) (14-2)
University Athletic Association Emory (14-7)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan (16-1)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championships from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

UC Santa Cruz
The College of New Jersey
St. Lawrence
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Cal Lutheran
Carnegie Mellon
Washington U. in St. Louis