May 12, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Committee has selected the individuals that will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2010 NCAA Division III Championships.
The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams.  The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on won-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.
The team championship will be held May 25-27, and the singles and doubles championships will be held May 28-30.  The finals will be held at Oberlin College.  

SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Austin Chafetz, Amherst
Mark Kahan, Amherst
Stephen Sullivan, Bowdoin
Nick Ballou, Cal Lutheran
Andrew Giuffrida, Cal Lutheran
Brian Pybas, UC Santa Cruz
Robbie Erani, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Mikey Lim, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Alex Nemerov, Carnegie Mellon
William Zhang, Chicago
Eric Shulman, Christopher Newport
Chris Goodwin, Emory
Dillon Pottish, Emory
Juan Carlos Perez-Borja, Grinnell
Amrik Donkena, Gustavus Adolphus
David Maldow, Johns Hopkins
Michael Greenberg, Kenyon
Scott Sundstrom, Luther
Sam Wichlin, Mary Washington
Andrew Lee, Middlebury
Andy Peters, Middlebury
Sam Sweeney, North Central (Illinois)
Tommy Meyer, Pomona-Pitzer
Scott Burtzlaff, Salisbury
Spencer Feldman, Trinity (Connecticut)
Max Frey, Trinity (Texas)
Mike Mattelson, Vassar
Hayden White, Washington and Lee
Isaac Stein, Washington U. in St. Louis
John Watts, Washington U. in St. Louis
Matt Solomon, Whitman
Nick Lebedoff, Williams

Atlantic South: Andrew Wang, Johns Hopkins
Central: Tomas Piskacek, Kenyon
Northeast: Andrew Thompson, Middlebury
West: Marc Vartebedian, UC Santa Cruz

DOUBLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):

Austin Chafetz/Robert Sorrel, Amherst
Andrew Giuffrida/Nick Ballou, Cal Lutheran
Brian Pybas/Marc Vartebedian, UC Santa Cruz
Jeremy King/James Muliwan, Carnegie Mellon
Steve Salterelli/Garrett Brinker, Chicago
Taylor Borda/Josh Rifkin, Ithaca
David Maldow/Andrew Wang, Johns Hopkins
Cyrus Jadun/Pat Boyd, Kalamazoo
Michael Greenberg/Charles Brody, Kenyon
Evan Goff/Kaz Murata, Mary Washington
Andrew Thompson/Andrew Lee, Middlebury
Evan Thomas/Scott Burtzlaff, Salisbury
David Ashlock/Andrew Reznik, Texas-Tyler
Spencer Feldman/Anson McCook, Trinity (Connecticut)
Bobby Cocanaugher/Cory Kowal, Trinity (Texas)
Isaac Stein/Max Woods, Washington U. in St. Louis

Atlantic South: Chris Goodwin/Chris Jordan, Emory
Central: Scott Sandager/Will Gates, DePauw
Northeast: Ben Guzick/Andrew Guzick, Vassar
West: Robbie Erani/Ronald Wu, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced by the next individual or doubles team from their region.

The draw for the individual championships will be done by the men's tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championships.  
The 2009 singles title went to Michael Goodwin of Emory.  Amrit Ruspasinghe and Ben Stein of Bates took the doubles title. The team final went to UC Santa Cruz.  They defeated Amherst 5-0.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships, log on to