May 31, 2010

Andy Johnston, Special to

ATHENS, Ga. - Virginia's Michael Shabaz became the first men's player to win consecutive doubles titles since 1990-91 when he and partner Drew Courtney defeated Tennessee's John-Patrick Smith and Davey Sandgren 6-7 (4), 6-2, 6-3.

Shabaz teamed with Dominic Inglot to win last year's championship and joins California's Matt Lucena, who won doubles titles with different partners in 1990-91.

"Last year, we felt like, me and Dom, playing dual matches toward the end, we kind of felt like we were the best team," Shabaz said. "We had beaten a lot of the top teams. This year, we talked a lot about it, me and Drew. I felt like we had the ingredients to win it. We can't be more happy than we are right now."

The title continued Virginia's championship string to four years.

Somdev Devvarman won the men's singles title in 2007 and '08. Shabaz and Courtney were unseeded, but defeated the first, second and fourth seeds on the way to the championship.

"It's pretty sweet, pretty sweet," Courtney said.