NORTH LITTLE ROcK, Ark. – Top-seeded Trinity (14-12) won the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference title for the second consecutive year -- and 16th time overall -- with a 6-3 victory against second-seeded DePauw on Sunday at Burns Park Tennis Center. Last year, the Tigers beat DePauw 5-3 to win their first SCAC championship since 2006.

The Tigers, ranked 11th nationally, won two of the three doubles matches from the No. 17 Tigers. Bobby Cocanougher and Cory Kowal, NCAA doubles finalists in 2010, won the No. 1 match by edging Noah Swiler and Sam Miles 9-8. Max Frey and Erick DelaFuente took No. 2 doubles, beating Hunter Schouweller and Michael Rardon 8-4. DePauw won No. 3 doubles as Reid Garlock and David Moss beat Ben Carroll and Don Murray 8-4.

Trinity’s Greg Haugen gave the Tigers a 3-1 lead by winning No. 5 singles 6-0, 6-0 against Garlock. DelaFuente was next in the win column, defeating Schouweller 6-3, 6-4 at No 3 singles. The clincher came at No. 1 singles as Frey outfought Rardon 6-7, 6-4, 6-0.

Carroll widened the Tigers lead to 6-1 after a three-set 6-1, 3-6, 6-2 win against Andrew Kahn at No. 6 singles.

Miles beat Cocanougher 5-7, 6-2, 4-2 (retired) at No. 2 singles and Swiler was a 6-7, 6-2, 4-5 (retired) winner against Kowal at No. 4 singles. Both Cocanougher and Kowal retired after the outcome of the match had been decided.