Printable Bracket Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2012 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championship.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 11-13. Meredith College and the Town of Cary will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 21-23 at the Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 9. 

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 30 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Six teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining seven teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Automatic Qualifiers
Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend (8-10)
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (17-5)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (15-12)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (17-4)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Baruch (15-2)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Marywood (11-5)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (17-3)
Commonwealth Conference Elizabethtown (13-6)
Empire 8 Stevens Institute (11-7)
Freedom Conference Wilkes (14-3)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Earlham (19-1)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe (22-7)
Landmark Conference Drew (11-5)
Little East Conference Massachusetts-Dartmouth (13-2)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Kalamazoo (10-11)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (24-6)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (20-7)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst (29-2)
North Atlantic Conference Penn State-Harrisburg (12-6)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (20-4)
Northern Athletics Conference Concordia (Wis.) (14-10)
Northwest Conference Whitman (21-4)
Ohio Athletic Conference Baldwin-Wallace (28-0)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (15-4)
President’s Athletic Conference Grove City (11-4)
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State (12-5)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (27-4)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (20-7)
University Athletic Association Emory (20-0)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan (16-2)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championships from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Pool "B" Selections
MIT UC Santa Cruz
TCNJ Skidmore
Vassar Wisconsin-Whitewater
Pool "C" Selections
Bowdoin Cal Lutheran
Middlebury Pomona-Pitzer
Redlands Washington-St. Louis

Amherst is the defending national champion, having defeated Emory 5-2 to claim the team title.