LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Top-ranked and undefeated Armstrong Atlantic State captured its third NCAA Division II Men's Tennis National Championship with a 5-0 win against No. 2 West Florida on Saturday afternoon at the Top Gun Tennis Academy in Louisville, Ky.

The Pirates (30-0) returned to the top of DII men's tennis after also capturing titles in 2008 and 2009, doing so in dominating fashion on the scoreboard - although the singles play was much tighter than the final score would indicate. West Florida ended its season at 28-3 after winning 19 in a row coming into the championship match.

Interactive Bracket
Printable Bracket
Women: Pirates take seventh title

Armstrong got out to a 3-0 lead after doubles on the Argos, picking up an 8-5 win at No. 1 doubles in a showdown of the top-ranked duo of Georgi Rumenov and Mikk Irdoja against the No. 2-ranked duo of Kevin Ducros and Bruno Savi. The Pirates won fairly easily at No. 2 doubles with No. 17-ranked Sven Lalic and Pedro Scocuglia defeating No. 18-ranked Leandro Ferreira and Andrey Pozhidaev and then collected an 8-6 win by Eudaldo Bonet and Matus Mydla at No. 3 doubles against Mike Lue and Domenico Sano.

In singles play, the Pirates won all six first sets, making it look like it would be an easy 5-0 win, but West Florida battled back in the second sets on all courts. No. 12-ranked Matus Mydla came up with the first point, getting a 6-2, 6-4 win against Leandro Ferreira at No. 4 singles. Top-ranked Georgi Rumenov then finished off the win, downing No. 7 Kevin Ducros, 6-4, 6-4, at No. 1 singles.

This is the third time that the Armstrong men and women have both won the NCAA DII National Championship and this is also the first time that both teams have run the table, finishing undefeated for the 2012 season.