tennis-men-d2 flag | February 12, 2014

Cirla reaches milestone in victory against Palm Beach Atlantic

BOCA RATON, Fla. -- Lynn's fourth-ranked team defeated regional opponent Palm Beach Atlantic 9-0 at the Perper Tennis Complex. Senior Vlad Cirla was able to reach a major milestone while head coach Mike Perez’s magic number to win 400 went down to six. With the victory, the Fighting Knights improved to 3-0 on the season.

In doubles play, Lynn mixed up the pairings but still managed to win all three matches convincingly. Pavel Mojha, making his first doubles appearance, and Alessio Iannozzi defeated Romain Nowaczyk and Asti Adams easily in the two spot 8-0. Playing in their third consecutive match in the top doubles slot, Daniel Riggs and Paolo Volpocelli were victorious 8-3 against their Sailfish counterparts Nicolas Uryson and Mark Heimberger. Giulo Gomba made his doubles debut teaming up with Tomas Porkop to put Lynn up 3-0 before the intermission with an 8-4 score over Nicholas Battistini and Kevin Reifler

On the first court Cirla had his hands full with Uryson being taken to a third set tiebreaker before winning 6-3, 4-6, 10-8 for his 48th victory wearing the Blue & White. With the win he becomes tied for 10th on the all-time win lists.

Singles action continued Lynn’s momentum with each Fighting Knight taking their first set. Volpocelli was the first to finish with a one-sided 6-2, 6-0 performance against Asi Adams in the fourth spot. Iannozzi clinched the win for Lynn with a 6-3, 6-1 sweep in the five spot against Battistni. Playing in the three-hole Porkop defeated Heimberger in consecutive sets 6-2, 6-4. Finishing seconds after Riggs won 6-2, 6-3 against PBA’s Nowaczyk in the second slot.

The match was concluded with Ethan Itzkovic defeating Giancalro Taracena 7-5, 6-3 in the six spot.

NOTE: The match between Saint Leo and Florida Southern has been rescheduled for Friday at 4 p.m. due to rain. 

2019 NCAA Division II women’s tennis championship selections

The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 48 teams that will be participating in the 2019 NCAA Division II Women’s Tennis Championship. Preliminary-rounds will be played May 13-14 at on-campus sites. Advancing teams from each site will advance to the finals, May 22-25, at Altamonte Springs, Florida. Rollins College and the Greater Orlando Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

Here are the January DII men's basketball games we are excited for

The January DII men's basketball slate is full on conference rivalries. Here are the ones that standout.

DII men’s soccer teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Take a look at the programs that have the most DII men's soccer championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners