tennis-men-d1 flag | May 18, 2014

USC named top seed in tournament

DI Men's Tennis: 2014 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second-round sites for the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First and second-round competition takes place May 9-11 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 16-20. The event will be hosted by Georgia. 

“This year the tennis committee put together another outstanding field of competitors, which should make for some great matches at the first and second-round sites and national championship,” said D.J. Gurule, the head women’s tennis coach at Gonzaga and the chair of the Division I men’s and women’s committee. “I believe that the brackets have great competitiveness and a national scope of the tournament and I can’t wait to see the teams that advance to Athens, Georgia.”

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida
Atlantic 10 – George Washington
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
Big East – St. John’s
Big Sky – Montana
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Ohio State
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Cal Poly
Colonial – UNC-Wilmington
Conference USA – Tulsa
Horizon – Green Bay
Ivy – Columbia
MAAC – Marist
Mid-American – Ball State
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Drake
Mountain West – Boise State
Northeast – Bryant
Ohio Valley – Jacksonville State
Pacific-12- UCLA
Patriot – Army
SEC – Texas A&M
Southern – Elon
Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC – Alcorn State
Summit – Denver
Sun Belt – Louisiana-Lafayette
West Coast – San Diego
WAC – Idaho


Interactive Printable

Tennessee State, North Carolina Central win 2023 HBCU national tennis championships

Tennessee State's men's tennis program and North Carolina Central's women's tennis program won the 2023 HBCU national championships.

Top moments from Ben Shelton's college stardom at Florida

Ben Shelton has become the second former collegiate tennis player to reach the U.S. Open semifinals in nearly 25 years. Here's as a look through his finest moments as a Florida Gator.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.