tennis-men-d3 flag | May 6, 2014

DIII M TEN: Field of 44 announced for championship

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 44 teams that will compete in the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships.

Interactive Bracket Printable

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 9-11. Claremont-M-S will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 19-21 at Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 7.

The championships provide for a 44-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 32 conference champions, which form Pool A. Five teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining seven teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Claremont-M-S 5-2 to claim the team title.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Franciscan (10-9)
American Southwest Conference: Texas-Tyler (22-4)
Capital Athletic Conference: Mary Washington (20-5)
Centennial Conference: Johns Hopkins (18-4)
City University of New York Athletic Conference: Baruch (12-1)
College Conferences of Illinois & Wisconsin: Elmhurst (16-4)
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Neuman (11-4)
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Nichols (21-1)
Commonwealth Conference: Messiah (10-6)
Empire 8: Stevens Institute (13-11)
Freedom Conference: Wilkes (18-1)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Earlham (16-6)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Coe (24-7)
Landmark Conference: Catholic (11-6)
Liberty League: Skidmore (13-7)
Little East Conference: Southern Maine (14-3)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Kalamazoo (12-8)
Midwest Conference: Grinnell (31-5)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Gustavus Adolphus (28-5)
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Amherst (31-3)
North Atlantic Conference: Colby-Sawyer (14-8)
North Coast Athletic Conference: Kenyon (18-7)
Northern Athletics Conference: Wisconsin Lutheran (10-2)
Northwest Conference: Whitman (19-4)
Ohio Athletic Conference: Otterbein (18-4)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Washington & Lee (17-4)
President’s Athletic Conference: Grove City (8-4)
Skyline Conference: Yeshiva (13-2)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference: Claremont M-S (27-1)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity (Texas) (22-6)
University Athletic Association: Washington (Mo.) (19-2)
USA South Athletic Conference: North Carolina Wesleyan (12-8)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championships from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Babson (10-10)
MIT (13-5)
UC Santa Cruz (5-10)
Sewanee (14-6)
Wisconsin-Whitewater (20-7)

Bowdoin (11-9)
Middlebury (18-3)
Carnegie Mellon (17-6)
Pomona-Pitzer (16-7)
Case Western (15-7)
Williams (15-6)
Emory (17-6)

Tennessee State, North Carolina Central win 2023 HBCU national tennis championships

Tennessee State's men's tennis program and North Carolina Central's women's tennis program won the 2023 HBCU national championships.

Top moments from Ben Shelton's college stardom at Florida

Ben Shelton has become the second former collegiate tennis player to reach the U.S. Open semifinals in nearly 25 years. Here's as a look through his finest moments as a Florida Gator.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.