tennis-men-d3 flag

NCAA Release | May 7, 2014

Individuals selected for DIII singles and doubles competition

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships. The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships are based on win-lost record, strength of schedule, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The team championship will take place May 19-21, and the individual championships May 22-24, both at Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California.

SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Joey Fritz, Amherst 
Brian Granoff, Brandeis 
Moises Cardenas, California Lutheran 
Abhishek Alla, Carnegie Mellon 
Christian Heaney-Secord, Carnegie Mellon 
Chris Krimbill, Case Western Reserve 
Deepak Sabada, Chicago
Skylar Butts, Claremont-M-S
Joe Dorn, Claremont-M-S
Nik Marino, Claremont-M-S
Warren Wood, Claremont-M-S
Noah Sprinkel, Coe 
Carl Reid, Colby 
Eric Halpern, Emory 
Alex Ruderman, Emory 
Michael Buxbaum, Johns Hopkins 
Ben Hwang, Johns Hopkins 
Branden Metzler, Kalamazoo 
Wade Heerboth, Kenyon 
Tyler Carey, Mary Washington
Alex Johnston, Middlebury 
Steven Wu, NYU
Patrick Lipscomb, Redlands
Oliver Loutsenko, Skidmore 
Avery Shober, Sewanee
Matt Heinrich, Stevens Institute
Paxton Deuel, Trinity (Texas)
John Carswell, Washington (Mo.)
Ross Putterman, Washington (Mo.)
David Konstantinov, Whittier 
Matt Micheli, Williams 
Jake Humphreys, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Atlantic South: Will Duncan, Carnegie Mellon
Central: Ryan Kreis, Wheaton (Ill.)
Northeast: Brantner Jones, Middlebury 
West: Greg Haugen, Trinity (Texas)

DOUBLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Joey Fritz/Justin Reindel, Amherst 
Timmy Berg/Pierre Planche, Bates 
Eric Klawitter/Chris Krimbill, Case Western Reserve 
Skylar Butts/Neel Kotrappa, Claremont-M-S
Joe Dorn/Warren Wood, Claremont-M-S
Ben Kopecky/Sam Miles, DePauw 
Michael Buxbaum/Emerson Walsh, Johns Hopkins 
Tyler Carey/Evan Charles, Mary Washington
Alex Johnston/Andrew Lebovitz, Middlebury 
Daniel Albers/Eric Spangler, Salisbury 
Oliver Loutsenko/Danny Knight, Skidmore 
Michael Holt/Taylor Shamshiri, Washington & Lee 
Jeremy Bush/Ross Putterman, Washington (Mo.)
Byron Balkin/Jake Humphreys, Wisconsin-Whitewater
Andrew La Cava/Colton Malesovas, Whitman 
David Konstantinov/Chris Schommer, Whittier 

Atlantic South: Will Duncan/Christian Heaney-Secord, Carnegie Mellon 
Central: Motasam Al-Houni/Mya Smith-Dennis, Gustavus Adolphus
Northeast: Matt Micheli/Conrad Harron, Williams 
West: Paxton Deuel/Nico Moreno, Trinity (Texas)

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced by the next individual or doubles team from their region. The draw for the individual championship will be done by the men’s tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.

The 2013 singles title went to Adam Putterman of Washington (Mo.). Elliot Kahler and Ian Wagner of Emory took the doubles title. Williams is the defending national champion, having defeated Claremont-M-S 5-2 to claim the team title.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.

UChicago defeats Case Western Reserve to win the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title

UChicago downed Case Western Reserve 5-2 in the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title match. Here's what you need to know.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners