tennis-men-d2 flag

Barry Athletics | May 16, 2014

Barry advances by Concordia (N.Y.)

  Ahmed Triki was a 6-3, 6-4 winner at No. 1 singles in Barry's victory.

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. -- Barryis headed back to the NCAA Division II semifinals after beating Concordia (N.Y.) 5-1 in the quarterfinals at Sanlando Park.

The Buccaneers (25-2) will get a rematch with Hawaii Pacific (22-0) at 1 p.m. ET Friday. Barry lost to HPU 5-4 in Miami Shores, Florida, during the regular season. The Clippers’ season came to an end at 18-4.

It marks the Bucs’ fifth trip to the semifinals in the past six years.

Barry seniors Romain Costamagna and Leo Vivas pulled out a 9-8 (7-3) win against Ricardo Frey and Rafael Ferreira at No. 2 doubles to give the Bucs a big boost entering singles play. Barry led 3-0 in the match after Costamagna and Vivas’ win.

Barry’s Kevin Sielmann and Renato Lombardi defeated Tomasz Olfans and Pulat Babadjanov 8-3 at No. 3 doubles to give the Bucs a 1-0 lead. Ollie Lemaitre and Ahmed Triki were 8-3 winners against Daniele Piludu and Benas Majauskas at the No. 1 flight.

In singles, Piludu was a 6-2, 6-2 winner versus Fabian Groetsch at the No. 2 spot as the Clippers pulled within 3-1. But Triki delivered a 6-3, 6-4 win against Juuso Ojanen at No. 1 to move the Buccaneers within a win of clinching.

Barry’s Eduardo Alfonzo claimed that honor with a 6-4, 6-3 win against Frey at No. 6.

Vivas was two points away from closing his No. 4 match with Olfans, leading 7-5, 5-0 when Alfonzo’s win ended the match. Barry’s Nico Dreer led Ofir Ginat, 6-2, 4-3, at No. 3. Lombardi was up 6-2, 4-2 on Ferreira at No. 5.

Thursday's match was delayed six hours due to weather delays.

DII men's tennis championships: Barry comes back from 3-0 deficit to win fourth national championship

The Division II men's tennis championship was held May 21-24 at Altamonte Springs, Florida. Barry defeated Columbus State 4-3 for the 2019 DII men's tennis national championship.

2019 NCAA Division II women’s tennis championship selections

The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 48 teams that will be participating in the 2019 NCAA Division II Women’s Tennis Championship. Preliminary-rounds will be played May 13-14 at on-campus sites. Advancing teams from each site will advance to the finals, May 22-25, at Altamonte Springs, Florida. Rollins College and the Greater Orlando Sports Commission will serve as hosts.

DII women’s soccer teams with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here are the five programs that have won the most DII women's soccer championships.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners