tennis-men-d1 flag | April 28, 2015

Selections announced for DI championship

DI Men's Tennis: 2015 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 8-9 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 14-19. The event will be hosted by Baylor University.

Bracket: Interactive Printable

“This bracket culminates a season of hard work by all student-athletes, and has created some excellent pairings in the early rounds of the championship,” said Tad Berkowitz, the head men’s tennis coach at the University of Arizona and the chair of the Division I men’s and women’s committee. “It will be exciting to watch as teams advance to the final site in Waco.”

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.

The complete list of teams and sites are included on the official bracket.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic South Florida
Atlantic Coast Virginia

Atlantic Sun Florida Gulf Coast
Atlantic 10 George Washington
Big East St. John’s (New York)
Big Sky Idaho
Big South Winthrop

Big Ten Illinois

Big 12 Oklahoma

Big West UC Santa Barbara
Colonial William and Mary
Conference USA UTSA
Horizon Green Bay
Ivy Columbia

MAAC Marist

Mid-American Buffalo

Mid-Eastern South Carolina State
Missouri Valley Drake

Mountain West Boise State

Northeast Bryant

Ohio Valley Eastern Kentucky
Pacific-12 Southern California

Patriot Navy

SEC Texas A&M

Southern East Tennessee State
Southland Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
SWAC Alabama State

Summit Denver

Sun Belt Troy

West Coast San Diego

WAC New Mexico State

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.