tennis-men-d2 flag | May 4, 2016

Men's Tennis: DII Championship selections announced

DII Men's Tennis: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has released its final NCAA Division II men’s tennis rankings of the 2015-16 academic year. The top teams in each region are listed below and will be advancing to the preliminary rounds of the 2016 NCAA Division II Men’s Tennis Championship.

MORE: Regional Brackets

Atlantic Region:

School Record
Bluefield St. 17-2
Edinboro (Automatic Qualifier) 22-3
West Liberty (Automatic Qualifier) 17-5
West. Va. Wesleyan 19-5
Chowan (Automatic Qualifier) 20-6
Mercyhurst 10-8

Central Region

School Record
Northwest Mo. St. (Automatic Qualifier) 19-3
Southeastern Okla. 12-2
Neb.-Kearney 18-3
Southwest Baptist 13-7

East Region

School Record
Concordia (N.Y.) (Automatic Qualifier) 12-4
NYIT (Automatic Qualifier) 17-3
Chestnut Hill 14-7
Queens (N.Y) 12-7
Southern N.H. (Automatic Qualifier) 14-7
Adelphi 11-7
Merrimack 10-9

Midwest Region

School Record
UIndy (Automatic Qualifier) 17-2
Ferris St. 21-4
Grand Valley State 16-7
Southern Ind. 17-5
Drury 12-8
Mo.-St. Louis 17-5
Lewis 12-9

South Central Region

School Record
Midwestern St. 12-7
Cameron 15-4
St, Mary's (Texas) 13-9
St. Edward's (Automatic Qualifier) 11-11

South Region

School Record
Saint Leo (Automatic Qualifier) 22-1
Barry 13-6
Valdosta St. (Automatic Qualifier) 15-6
West Florida 18-6
Lynn 16-7
North Ala. 12-4
Fla. Southern 14-10
Benedict (Automatic Qualifier) 15-8

Southeast Region

School Record
Armstrong St. (Automatic Qualifier) 22-2
Columbus St. 17-5
Lander 17-5
Georgia College 15-8
North Georgia 17-7
Francis Marion 15-9
S.C. Aiken 12-9
Queens (N.C.) (Automatic Qualifier) 14-3
Mount Olive 15-5

Links to selection criteria for each region are listed below:

Atlantic | Central | East | Midwest | South Central | Southeast | South | West

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.