tennis-men-d1 flag | May 4, 2016

Men's tennis: Teams announced for 2016 NCAA Division I championship

DI Men's Tennis: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS-- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

First- and second-round competition takes place May 13-14 or May 14-15 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 20-24. The event will be hosted by the University of Tulsa.

“The 2015-16 men’s tennis season has been extremely competitive. This bracket is a great reflection of that competitiveness and the hard work each student-athlete and team has been putting in throughout the season.  I look forward to watching as teams advance to the final site in Tulsa.” said Bobby Bayliss, the chair of the Division I men’s tennis committee and the director of tennis facilities at the University of Notre Dame.

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

MORE: Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

American Athletic – South Florida

Atlantic Coast – Wake Forest

Atlantic Sun –North Florida

Atlantic 10 – George Washington

Big East – St. John's (New York)

Big Sky – Weber State

Big South – Coastal Carolina

Big Ten – Ohio State

Big 12 – TCU

Big West – UC Santa Barbara

Colonial – College of Charleston

Conference USA – Rice

Horizon – Valparaiso

Ivy – Columbia

MAAC – Monmouth

Mid-American – Western Michigan

Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State

Missouri Valley – Wichita State

Mountain West – UNLV

Northeast – Bryant

Ohio Valley – Tennessee Tech

Pacific-12- UCLA

Patriot – Army West Point

SEC – Florida

Southern – East Tennessee State

Southland –Lamar

SWAC – Jackson State

Summit – Denver

Sun Belt – UT Arlington

West Coast – San Diego

WAC – New Mexico State

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners