tennis-men-d1 flag | May 2, 2017

DI men's tennis subcommittee announces championship selections

DI Men's Tennis: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship. 

 View the 2017 championship bracket

First- and second-round competition takes place May 12-13 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format.  The winner of each site advances to the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 18-23. The event will be hosted by the University of Georgia.

“The 64-team field is impressive again this year.  Congratulations to all participants for the hard work put in this year.  We’re excited for the competition ahead as teams advance to Athens.” said Judy Van Horn, executive associate athletics director at the University of South Carolina, Columbia, and the chair of the Division I Men’s and Women’s Tennis Committee.

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches. The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

Conference School
American Athletic South Florida
Atlantic Coast Virginia
ASUN Florida Gulf Coast
Atlantic 10 VCU
Big East Butler
Big Sky Idaho
Big South Presbyterian
Big Ten Ohio State
Big 12 TCU
Big West UC Santa Barbara
Colonial University of North Carolina Wilmington
Conference USA Rice
Horizon Valparaiso
Ivy Columbia
MAAC Monmouth
Mid-American Buffalo
Mid-Eastern Florida A&M
Missouri Valley Drake
Mountain West Utah State
Northeast Bryant
Ohio Valley Tennessee Tech
Pacific-12 Southern California
Patriot Army West Point
SEC Georgia
Southern East Tennessee State
Southland Lamar
SWAC Jackson State
Summit Denver
Sun Belt Georgia State
West Coast San Diego
WAC University of Missouri-Kansas City

DI committee approves pilot plan for tennis individual championships in fall 2024, 2025

Beginning in 2024, Division I men's and women's individual singles and doubles championships will be held in the fall.

Alabama State wins 2022 HBCU national tennis championship

Alabama State men's tennis program won the 2022 HBCU national championship. Xavier University of Louisiana won the women's title.

What to know about 2022's HBCU national tennis championships

The 21st annual HBCU National Tennis Championships are from Sept. 15-18, 2022, at the South Fulton Tennis Center in the far stretches of Atlanta, Georgia. Here's what you need to know.