tennis-men-d3 flag | May 8, 2017

Division III Men’s Tennis Championship Selections

  The NCAA DIII Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete for the title.


INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first-, second- and third-rounds played at regional sites, Thursday-Saturday, May 11-13, or Friday-Sunday, May 12-14.  University of the  South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission  will host the team championship finals, which will be held May 22-27 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 10.

2017 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship Bracket

The championship provides for a 43-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 35 conference champions, which form "Pool A."  Two teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B).  The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C).  The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

Automatic Qualifiers

Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Franciscan (10-10)
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (18-6)
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport (14-9)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (16-2)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Baruch (11-2)
College Conferences of Illinois and Wisconsin Wheaton (Illinois) (17-7)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini (11-5)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (18-3)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah (12-5)
Empire 8 Stevens Institute of Technology(12-13)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Wilkes (22-3)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Ramapo (12-7)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman (19-8)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coe (25-5)
Landmark Conference Goucher (15-10)
Liberty League Skidmore (11-6)
Little East Conference Massachusetts Boston (10-7)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Kalamazoo (18-1)
Midwest Conference Grinnell (18-9)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (24-8)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Bowdoin (18-4)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference MIT (17-4)
North Atlantic Conference Colby-Sawyer (14-10)
North Coast Athletic Conference Kenyon (13-10)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia Wisconsin (20-6)
Northwest Conference Whitman (24-6)
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (16-7)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (16-6)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More (14-5)
Skyline Conference Yeshiva (15-1)
Southern Athletic Association Sewanee (Univ. of the South) (21-3)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (28-3)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas) (16-10)
University Athletic Association Emory (17-4)
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan (19-4)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championship from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Pool "B" Selections:

• The College of New Jersey (14-3)
• Wisconsin-Whitewater (14-11)

Pool "C" Selections:

• Amherst (22-5)
• Chicago (17-4)
• Middlebury (18-3)
• Washington U. in St. Louis (16-4)
• Wesleyan (CT) (13-3)
• Williams (13-7)

Bowdoin is the defending national champion, having defeated Middlebury, 5-0, to claim the team title. For more information about the championship, including a championship bracket, log on to

Tennessee State, North Carolina Central win 2023 HBCU national tennis championships

Tennessee State's men's tennis program and North Carolina Central's women's tennis program won the 2023 HBCU national championships.

Top moments from Ben Shelton's college stardom at Florida

Ben Shelton has become the second former collegiate tennis player to reach the U.S. Open semifinals in nearly 25 years. Here's as a look through his finest moments as a Florida Gator.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.