tennis-men-d3 flag | May 11, 2017

Division III men's tennis individual and doubles selections released

  The individual championships are from May 25-27 at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

INDIANAPOLIS--The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships.

For the individual championships, the national committee will select seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee would then select the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool. The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-lost record, strength of schedule, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The team championship will take place May 22-24, and the individual championships May 25-27, both at The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and will be hosted by the University of the South and the Chattanooga Sports Commission. 

SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Ben Rosen Bates
Luke Tercek Bowdoin
Grant Urken Bowdoin
Daniel Levine Carnegie Mellon
Herman Abban Carthage
Erik Kerrigan Chicago
Nicolas Chua Chicago
Daniel Morkovine Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Glenn Hull Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nikolai Parodi Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Brady Anderson Coe
Vlad Murad Colby
Aman Manji Emory
Jonathan Jemison Emory
Mohanad Alhouni Gustavus Adolphus
Jeremy Dubin Johns Hopkins
Branden Metzler Kalamazoo
Lubomir Cuba Middlebury
William de Quant Middlebury
Tyler Barr MIT
Sebastian Sikh North Carolina Wasleyan
Jake Yasgoor Pomona-Pitzer
Chase Lipscomb Redlands
Kai Yuen Leung Skidmore
Avery Schober University of the South
Arther Fagundes Texas-Tyler
Jordan Krasner Washington and Lee
Johnny Wu Washington U. in St. Louis
Steven Chen Wesleyan (Connecticut)
Justin Ancona Wheaton (Illinois)
Zach Hewlin Whitman
Courtney Murphy Wilkes
First alternate Parker Wilson, Redlands
Second alternate Chas Mayer, Trinity
Third alternate Mark Fallati, Swarthmore
Fourth alternate Spencer Watanabe, George Fox
DOUBLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):
Pair School
Zach Bessette/Jayson Fung Amherst
Herman Abban/Pawel Jaworski Carthage
Erik Kerrigan/Ninan Kumar Chicago
Justin Cerny/David Reed Christopher Newport
Scott Rubenstein/James Spaulding Emory
Mohanad Alhouni/Patrick Whaling Gustavus Adolphus
Jeremy Dubin/Joseph Cartledge Johns Hopkins
Lubomir Cuba/William de Quant Middlebury
Spencer Simonides/Antony Bello Pomona-Pitzer
Joey Dulle/Jake Ly Redlands
Kai Yuen Leung/John Wynne Skidmore
Nickoloz Snovely/Grant Gideon Southwestern (Texas)
Matt Tyer/Wilson Lamberth Trinity (Texas)
Jason Haugen/Konrad Kozlowski Washington U. in St Louis
Justin Ancona/Matt Steiner Wheaton (Illinois)
Alex Taylor/Brian Grodecki Williams


Order Doubles pair
First alternate Michael Liu/Jake Roberts, Wesleyan (Conn.)
Second alternate Ryland Byrd/Michael Fleming, Mary Washington
Third alternate Chris Ellis/Ben Rosen, Bates
Fourth alternate Jack Gray/Alejandro Becker, University of the South

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced in sequential order by the published list of alternates.

The draw for the individual championship will be done by the men’s tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.

The 2016 singles title went to Skyler Butts of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps. Samuel Geier and Tristan Kaye of Kenyon took the doubles title. Bowdoin is the defending national champion, having defeated Middlebury 5-0 to claim the team title. For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships, log on to

Tennessee State, North Carolina Central win 2023 HBCU national tennis championships

Tennessee State's men's tennis program and North Carolina Central's women's tennis program won the 2023 HBCU national championships.

Top moments from Ben Shelton's college stardom at Florida

Ben Shelton has become the second former collegiate tennis player to reach the U.S. Open semifinals in nearly 25 years. Here's as a look through his finest moments as a Florida Gator.

DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles 2023 title winners

Here are the winners of the 2023 DI men's and women's tennis singles and doubles championships.