tennis-men-d1 flag | May 3, 2018

2018 DI men's tennis championship field unveiled

DI Men's Tennis: 2018 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.  

First- and second-round competition takes place May 11-12 or 12-13 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 18-22. The event will be hosted by Wake Forest University.

MORE: Full ITA Top 25 rankings | Full interactive bracket 

“Congratulations to all participants for the hard work put in this year. The 64-team field is impressive again this year. We’re excited for the competition ahead as teams advance to Winston-Salem.” said Judy Van Horn, executive associate athletics director at the University of South Carolina, Columbia, and the chair of the Division I Men’s and Women’s Tennis Committee.

The matches shall be regulation dual matches. Three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets will be played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

RELATED: Complete history of past DI champions

During the championships, all matches will be stopped after the doubles point is decided. All remaining individual matches will be stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches. The complete list of teams and sites is included on the official bracket, which is available at

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship.  Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

Conference School
American Tulane
Atlantic 10 VCU
ACC Wake Forest
Atlantic Sun North Florida
Big East Marquette
Big Sky Idaho
Big South Campbell
Big Ten Ohio State
Big 12 Texas
Big West UC Santa Barbara
Colonial UNCW
Conference USA Old Dominion
Horizon Cleveland State
Ivy Dartmouth 
MAAC Monmouth
Mid-American Western Michigan
Mid-Eastern South Carolina State
Mountain West Utah State
Northeast Bryant
Ohio Valley Tennessee Tech
Pac-12 UCLA
Patriot Navy
SEC Mississippi State
Southern East Tennessee State
Southland Lamar
SWAC Alabama State
Summit Drake
Sun Belt South Alabama
West Coast San Diego
WAC New Mexico State

UChicago defeats Case Western Reserve to win the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title

UChicago downed Case Western Reserve 5-2 in the 2022 DIII men's tennis national title match. Here's what you need to know.

Virginia defeats Kentucky to win the NCAA DI men's tennis championship for a 5th time

Virginia is DI men's tennis national champion in the team bracket for the fifth time in program history. The Cavaliers swept Kentucky, 4-0, Sunday afternoon in Champaign, Illinois.

Barry wins 2022 men's DII tennis national title for third-straight championship

Barry took down Wayne State, 4-1, to win its third-straight national championship and sixth since 2010.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners